Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was the best pepper jelly I have ever made! I tweaked it a bit by using 3 cups of mixed jalapenos & sweet green peppers & used 1 cup lemon juice and 1/2 cup vinegar instead of using all vinegar. Before jarring it, I added green food coloring - it is beautiful & jelled perfectly. It is now the only hot pepper jelly recipe I will ever use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I always add chopped garlic to this recipe. And some hot pepper flakes. I like the idea of lemon in it but I will try that another time. Always use the food coloring - it just makes it pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
WOW!!! I used red peppers instead of the green and 1C of bottled lemon juice and 1/2C of vinegar, no food colouring and OH MY!! It jelled beautifully and after processing the lids popped right away! It made 5 250ml jars. I used the shredding wheel of my food processor and removed any large skins. There was hardly any skimming to do and what there was, was easy to skim as the jelly had become a little firm at that point. You will not be disappointed in this! They're sitting on my kitchen counter just sparkling!! Thank you for this recipe! It's a keeper!! Now. Our bottled wine is calling me...red wine and cranberry jelly, or pink zinfandel jelly? ;-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I make this for Christmas gifts each year. I use red bell peppers instead of green to give it a festive reddish hue, and add jalapeno and/or habanero peppers to give it more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
This is wonderful served with crackers and strawberry cream cheese! I add 2 drops of green food coloring and 2 tsp of crushed red pepper. I appreciate the recommendation to use lemon with just small amount of vineager--it is a little potent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
The amount of vinegar in this recipe overwhems everything! I reccomend using mostly lemon juice, a bit of lemon zest, and just a fraction on the vinegar (apple cider is much more palatable, by the way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Excellent product. I accidently discovered that if you only add 1/2 the sugar at first, then add the rest after the pectin. Add a couple of minutes boiling and you get a wonderful honeylike texture and sweetness that is out of this world. Add food color for Christmas cheer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
The flavor of this jelly is wonderful. I did increase the number of peppers to 3 cups as suggested above. However, it only gelled to a honey-like consistency. I think the addition of more pectin would give it the proper boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
The recipe was easy to follow and gelled quite nicely, but the jelly was far too sweet. You could barely taste the peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
I've been making this for years and it's wonderful BUT use equal amounts sweet green and red peppers - the colour of the jelly will be a wonderful amber hue. Also, do use your food processor that's what those blades are for! By the way, this jelly is a wonderful accompaniment for roast pork! Kay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Wine Jelly

See how to turn your favorite wine into delicous jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States