Pepper-Honey Cedar Plank Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
Too much cayenne and we usually enjoy a bit of a bite. Otherwise not too bad. This recipe seemed to make way too much sauce and half went down the sink - waste is a big minus in this home..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
This was delicious! I didn't use the cedar planks, but we did grill it. I doubled the sauce recipe, but I shouldn't have because there was a ton leftover. I was concerned about the cayenne (I used crushed red pepper instead) but it wasn't too spicy for my 7 year old who really enjoyed it as well. I served over white rice with peas. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Amazing sauce that freezes well. It is excellent on chicken. I reduce the sugar by almost half and use orange, pineapple, or whatever juice I have on hand. Sometimes I have only white sugar. So this recipe works well even if you don't have all the ingredients. The secret is in simmering the sauce up to 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
Made this recipe for Father's Day lunch for 10 people. I doubled the recipe for the sauce as mentioned in some of the reviews but followed it exactly. Everyone raved!! Also, since I don't cook a lot of seafood the tip about the "white stuff seeping" out of the salmon to indicate that it was done was excellant!! Thanks for the fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojo13

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This is one of my all time favorites. My wife usually doesn't like salmon (except sashimi), but she loves this! The salmon is moist as butter and not the slightest bit dry. We only make two pieces of salmon, but make the full amount of sauce and dribble it over some jasmine coconut rice as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
My boyfriend and I have salmon quite often, so I am always looking for different ways to have salmon outside of the generic Asian sauce, which is what I was afraid this would be at first. It does not now, however taste like a teriyaki or anything like that. It is VERY sweet and has a kick, but the spice was not overwhelming for us. I couldn't distinguish any particular flavors that stood out other than sweet and a little spicy, but it was good. I used half honey and half agave, and I had a hard time thickening it on the stove, so I used a cornstarch slurry and boiled for a few minutes. It thickened up to a beautiful sauce, and the salmon did not need more seasoning than salt and pepper with this sauce. Over all it was good, but only if you like sweet sauces on salmon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Excellent!!! My family and I LOVE the flavor of this dish! It's one of our top/favorite dishes to make. We don't change a thing in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPMsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
AMAZING!! THANK YOU JMCURTAIN FOR SHARING:) It's the kind of recipe that makes you sad when you only have one more bite left. I wish I could add some suggestions but REALLY IT WAS JUST THAT GOOD. I thought if anything it was more sweet than spicy, and it was just the right amount of both:). The only thing I did different was bake it wrapped in tin foil for 15 minutes at 425F. Can't wait to cook it the right way on the plank:) Then it will be THE BEST SALMON I EVER HAD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subgumwarbar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Delicious. Definitely took me 45 minutes to thicken the sauce. However, it thickened more upon cooling. Wish I had marinated the salmon a bit...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Unnecessarily complex marinade. The Prep and cook time are inaccurate. Took waay too long to put this together, and then it didn't thicken. My boys liked it, but think I'll stick to my much simpler marinade next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cedar Planked Salmon with Dill

Try this tangy and delicious cedar planked salmon.

Cedar Planked Salmon

See how to make cedar planked salmon with a simple Asian marinade.

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States