Pepper-Crusted Beef Tenderloin with Chocolate-Port Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Love this! It is not too sweet and my only complaint is that the balsamic vinegar is a bit strong. I would use 2 teaspoons instead of a tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Con C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Norway, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I tried this recipe for valentines day and we both absolutely loved it! We are not really red meat people but we both found this really delicious. Rather than fry the steaks first, i cooked the shallots and garlic in the oil first then added the steaks to this to pick up more flavour. I also added a little stock to the sauce to make it gob a bit further. Will definately be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Made this for a dinner party & though the steaks turned out great, I thought the sauce masked the flavor of the steaks. Luckily, I served the sauce on the side, which would be my suggestion to others. Funny we all agreed that the sauce tasted good w/the mashed potatoes, but really was to strong for the steaks. Don't think I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Yummy! My husband made this for my birthday, knowing that I love fillet and chocolate. He did reduce the chocolate to about 1.5 oz, which was perfect. We don't have peppercorns or coarse salt on hand, so he used the basic kitchen variety of salt and pepper and still resulted with a bit of a pepper crust. Good enough if that's all you have on hand, but I am sure the fresh crushed peppercorns would have really crusted up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This dish was delicious. We didn't have port in my house, so I substituted Cream of Sherry for it instead--it was still yummy. We also didn't have shallots so I minced garlic and red onion together. I cooked this for my parents and they were both extremely impressed. I plan on cooking this for my boyfriend soon! I definatly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
fantastic recipe. The fresh rosemary does the trick and blends wonderfully with the port, balsamic and chocolate. I just added a pinch of corn flower to thicken the sauce just a bit more. Also added pepper corns and a bit of salt in the sauce. It combined wonderfully with mashed potatoes (cooked with grated cheese and nutmeg) and asparagus. Be sure to try this recipe and you wont regret it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Easy to prepare, sauce is very good. I would use about half the chocolate next time; it had slightly too strong of a chocolate taste for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
We all enjoyed this dish. I made the mistake of using a dark 60% chocolate that was not bittersweet. Then I had to "doctor" the sauce by adding more balsalmic and salt. In the end it was good but you could taste the chocolate too much. Also, I made this for 8 people so I quadrupled the sauce when 2X the sauce would have been plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is the best sauce I have ever tasted, It's great with scallops, chicken and pork tenderloin as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliam DeMacedo

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States