Pepper-Crusted Beef Tenderloin with Chocolate-Port Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Have reviewed over 100 recipes on AR and can say this is now a favorite. The cooking time for each filet was considerably longer for me (in part, because my filets were larger). I used regular bittersweet chocolate chips which I had on hand, along with dried rosemary (cutting back on the amount). Served with mashed potatoes and asparagus. Will make again, and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
The sauce was good, not sweet with a ruby port and 72% cacao chocolate. Be sure to use a quality balsamic vinegar. Taking the extra time to caramelize the shallot is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
It was an interesting concept, chocolate and port and I looked forward to doing it. Personally I didn't like the peppercorns as too many fell of while I was cooking the steaks. Also I found 4 minutes a side was not enough to cook the beef to the correct temperature. Thankfully I had the oven on for a separate reason and found that by sticking the beef in the oven while I made the sauce, it was enough to finish cooking it. That said, the sauce is really simple to make. It provides an interesting and different flavor. Makes me consider combining beef and chocolate in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I loved this, my only complaint is that I would have liked more sauce. I'll double the sauce next time, and I think it will be great. UPDATE: Doubled the sauce and it is by far the best beef tenderloin I have ever made. Absolutely delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I made this tonight for my husband paired with french onion soup. We loved it! I was very skeptical about the chocolate part but it made it oh sooo good! I didn't make any substitutions at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usnwife20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Added a little garlic and horseradish to the sauce with the shallots - put it with prime rib instead of tenderloin. Amazing!!!! We couldn't get enough of this and had a dark chocolate rimmed glass with port wine for dessert. The perfect meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This was Fantastic! Made it for Valentine's dinner tonight & husband LOVED it! I did add more shallot as I like the flavor, also used suggestion of others and topped steak with blue cheese crumbles...YUM! Will absolutely make this again - soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I am not really much of a beef eater. This recipe makes me want to change my mind. It is easy to cook but is still fancy. Perfect for a busy family that wants something different.I served it with a bake potato and asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I wanted a decadent sauce for steaks that wasn't cream-based. This was exactly it. I used the full one ounce of bittersweet chocolate (60% cacoa) called for and thought it was just right. It's a deep and rich flavor that complimented my filet mignon steaks perfectly. After drizzling sauce over meat I topped with bits of fresh bacon. I can't wait to make this again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Very Good! Loved the sauce. Easy to make, yet tasted gourmet. I served this with mashed potatoes and carmelized butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Long Island Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States