Pepper Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Great!!! Everyone liked it and even had seconds. I can totally see using this as a dip instead of a side dish which I may do for SuperBowl potluck. Pure corn heaven. As far as healthy, our house lives by the "everything in moderation" rule so it's certainly not a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I made this using 12 oz bag of white shoe peg corn. After reading the reviews, I used 2 oz (1/2 stick) of smart balance, 8 oz block of low fat cream cheese that I softened in microwave and did not use the evaporated milk at all. This was the perfect consistency. My company sure enjoyed it. Thanks for posting Danelle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
To fix the consistency problem, I used a mixer (or could use a fork) and a little bit of the evaporated milk to blend the warm cream cheese and butter before mixing with the rest of the ingredients. I do love corn, but I'm more careful now and scared with all the GMO products out there now--corn being one of them. Very good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
My mom used to make this with no milk or chiles. She threw it all into her crockpot and it is wonderful. I can't wait to serve it to company with the chiles...too high fat to have just for us. I guess I could try it with fat free cream cheese and smart balance. Will let you know how that works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I think this would be good, but I think I would add Hot cooked & crumble sausage like Jimmy Dean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bnrudy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This sounds delicious and I will probably make it for my grown son and his family. But being more informed mothers and cooks than previous generations, none of us should call this a "vegetable." Besides the butter and cream cheese being "wicked," corn is a grain, and not a vegetable, to begin with. We need more GREENS! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This corn recipe was all right, but my husband and I thought there was too much of a cream cheese taste to it. I liked the flavor the green chiles gave the corn though. I also had trouble getting the cream cheese to melt all the way so it seemed like in some bites we got a big clump of cream cheese and not much else. The evaporated milk made the corn very liquidy and the cream cheese not melting just gave this dish a strange texture. I might play around with it a little bit and see if I can fix the consistancy problem, but I won't make it as is again. Thank you for giving me some ideas to play around with though, Danelle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
be careful when doubling or tripling...use less "liquid" and more green chilis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Wow, this is wicked from a nutritional point of view, but we all deserve a little evil now and then. I baked in ramekins (yield was six), and it took nearly an hour to get a nice brown on the tops. I'd bump up the temperature to at least 375 degrees F (maybe more), or the rest of your meal could be waiting for these to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Delicious way to prepare a corn casserole. My husband doesn't care for cream cheese, but he really liked this recipe. I made a half batch since it was only the two of us. The leftovers heated up nicely for the lunch the following day. Great recipe, thanks Danelle for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States