Penuche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I'm going to have to give this recipe another shot, next time following the directions a little more closely. I didn't let it sit undisturbed like I was supposed to, and I ended up with a very grainy texture. However, the flavor was incredible definitely worthy of a 2nd try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This recipe will take considerable restraint on my part to NOT EAT THE WHOLE BATCH in one sitting it's so good! Fantastic brown sugar taste with a creamy, smooth and buttery texture. I followed the recipe exactly except skipped the nuts and it turned out perfect. A couple key things for someone new to candy/fudge making: make sure you don't stir it AT ALL after it comes to a boil and until it's cooled off - take it off the heat and don't touch it. Otherwise, if you stir while it's boiling or while it's cooling off, you'll start the crystallization too early and it'll end up horribly grainy and even separate. I use a candy thermometer and take it up to 234 exactly (as other reviewers do) then let it cool off to 110 without touching it. I then use a hand mixer and beat it on medium-high until it is creamy and really starting to thicken up (consistency pretty thick where you can see the tracks/ribbons from the mixer but still pourable - once at this point it'll firm up quick if you keep beating and you'll have to scrape it out of the pan). And I know it's a silly detail but I always move the pan around on the counter every minute or so to constantly give it a cooler surface underneath so it sets up a bit quicker although it still took me about 10 minutes today with the mixer. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFarmerJen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This is the creamiest fudge I have ever had. I followed a previous reviewers' advice and heated to 234 exactly and cooled it to 110 exactly, then poured the fudge into a bowl and beat it with a hand mixer until it was creamy. It looks like it's not going to set up, but it does! Great recipe; thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Love this recipe! I have made Penuche for years, and when I found this recipe, I was excited as it made a more creamier candy. . . plus it was way more user friendly than mine. . .not AS much stirring, but still, you need to be prepared for a work out, but it is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Izabenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickinson, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I'm giving this five stars because I think I messed up a bit somewhere...lol Mine came out kinda grainy and was a little hard to cut. Otherwise it had good flavor and I went the extra mile and dipped the cut pieces in chocolate and doused with chocolate sprinkles. It was a hit at our Cocktail party along with Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by booklady2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I used my candy thermometer like I always do for fudge. I cooked it to soft ball stage, but it didn't set up properly. Also, it was extremely grainy and sugary. The flavor was good, but the consistency was horrible. It felt like pure hard packed brown sugar. I won't make this one again. I'm still hunting for a penuche recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Awesome recipe!! My penuche came out light, fluffy and delicious. It tastes like it came from a candy store and was very easy to prepare. I allowed the mixture to cool to 115 degrees and whipped with my Kitchen aid as per a previous review. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Awesome. I whipped it for 5 or so minutes on high speed after it was cooled a bit from the stove and that made all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
After making six batches of this recipe in order to perfect it, I would advise the following: 1. Cook to no more than 234 degrees - if if cooks at higher temperatures, it will be very stiff and somewhat grainy. 2. It is very important to let the fudge cool in the pan to no more than 120 degrees, 110 is better. Just leave the candy thermometer in to check this. This cooling process takes at least an hour, so allow extra time. 3. For an even smoother fudge, add 2-4 Tbs of cream as you are beating the fudge. This will make the fudge easier to slice. 4. Beat for at least 3 minutes with a good quality hand mixer. It will not look like it has set up when you put it in the pan, but put the pan in the fridge and a few hours later, it will be set. I don't usually go to this amount of trouble, but the flavor of this recipe is so good, it was worth it - and even with their flaws, eating the trial batches was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I must have done something wrong--even with my new $14.00 candy thermometer!--because it came out hard and grainy (like maple candy). However, the flavor was spot on, and out of this world. In fact, both my husband and I thought the flavor was much better than the that of the "Panocha Fudge" recipe from this same site that we'd also tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States