Penuche Sugar Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
It was the tastiest failure I ever made. I made this for a Christmas goodie basket, and it was so runny it had to be frozen before packaging. I thought everyone would be put off by it's texture, but everyone was licking it off the waxed paper! People raved about it. I would suggest cooking it to a higher temperture and being very sure that is crystalizes, but I have no complaints about the flavor- it was absolutely delicious. The perfect flavor makes it a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Very Full Monty
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Came out very dry and crumbly and i took it off the stove at the soft ball stage.. the texture was gritty.and the flavor was not what I was expecting.. and didnt have a Fudgy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Very Full Monty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
i had to make this twice. the first time it was gritty and fell apart, but i remelted it and added more cream and it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Herndon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Culpeper, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
well to be honest the taste of this was exactly what i was looking for but the texture didn't work for me. mine was extremely hard to stir and hardened too much.i may have boiled it to too high a temperature as i didn't have a thermometer. i will try again with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I used fat free half-and-half and it turned out quite well -- not quite as creamy as I would have liked but this was possibly due to boiling or beating it too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This fudge came out so bad I had to throw the whole batch in the trash. It was still sugar/gritty after letting it cook to the right temp. Even the flavor was not that great, and it requires way too many nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I followed the recipe as written. I was a little disappointed. I was hoping for a smooth, creamy texture. Instead, it turned out quite granular, like a soft cube of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
WAY too much brown sugar! Not too bad as far as taste but the texture was not fudge-like at all... It was very grainy and was basically a pan of sugar. Next time I'll try using less sugar and a little more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
It turned out crumbly. It tasted okay but the pieces just fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I guess I was expecting something different when I made this, but it was basicly a brown sugar prailine.. It would be improved with a pie crust to cut the sweetness. It was so rich that my husband and I could barely finish one square. Then it sat in my kitchen until I threw it out! Was kind of a waste of time to make, unless you like eating what seemed like pure sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baconbutterwino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States