Penuche Sugar Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
I made this w/ peanuts. It was very easy and quick. Tasty too. Pretty sweet though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
I have searched high and low for a Penuche recipe that comes close to that my father made when I was growing up. This is it! I also made a second batch and varied this recipe by adding maple extract and it tasted like maple sugar candy. My family has gone nuts over this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Just like Grandma's. I have been looking for this recipe forever. Thank you soooo much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
This was so delicious! Quite easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
Tastes amazing, but the texture wasn't quite right. Its probably because I tried to make this without a candy thermometer (although I did take it off at the soft ball stage).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
This turned out rubbish for me. I made the fudge using a mixture of white sugar, light muscavado and dark muscavado brown sugars (with the dark making up the majority) but the final fudge just ended up tasting exactly like the brown sugar. I decided to recook it and add a whole can of evaporated milk and some semi skimmed and it turned out great. But in my opinion the original recipe has nowhere near enough milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Just like Grandma used to make. Amazing flavor! I used evaporated milk like my Grams instead of cream. The family was elated to taste this delicious fudge again. Perfect Penuche!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I guess I was expecting something different when I made this, but it was basicly a brown sugar prailine.. It would be improved with a pie crust to cut the sweetness. It was so rich that my husband and I could barely finish one square. Then it sat in my kitchen until I threw it out! Was kind of a waste of time to make, unless you like eating what seemed like pure sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baconbutterwino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
It turned out crumbly. It tasted okay but the pieces just fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
WAY too much brown sugar! Not too bad as far as taste but the texture was not fudge-like at all... It was very grainy and was basically a pan of sugar. Next time I'll try using less sugar and a little more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States