Penuche Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I have eaten it every Christmas for 65 years. It is a family tradition. But when you make candy you must always guard against it turning grainy and crystalizing. It can happen easily. In my family it has always gone by the name Patience, because its difficult to consistently turn it out right. Always cook on a cold clear low humidity day and never let any raw sugar grains come into contact with a turned out batch or it will turn to sugar only patience and repeated attempts will make it turn out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I followed the directions exactly! I even took out the candy thermometer. Don't know what happened but just as someone said before started out creamy wen it was hot but cooled into a soft but sugary grainy mess. I think there must be something missing. I don't see how it went wrong. followed to a T. and it was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
My grama made the best penuche fudge and this is right up there. I didn't change a thing, except make sure you use a candy thermometer. I tried it without the first time and it was to dried out. The second time was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Made this recipe twice. Fisrt, using heavy cream instead of using half/half and milk. Second time, I used light cream instead of half/half and milk. (2/3 cup of light cream.) Second time it came out so incredibly creamy amd caramelly. So perfect that I will never use any other recipe fr tgis fudge. Make sure your pot is big and heavy. Watch your candy thermometer closely and don't try to get it to the soft ball stage as quickly as you can. I turned my knob down a bit once it started to boil and let it bubble slowly. It came out just unbelieveable. You must try using just light cream....no milk....and use 2/3 cup. Whip it very well with a large heavy whisk when you add vanilla, and you will find it to be like caramel when you pour it into your pan. UNREAL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
something is wrong with this recipe. I too followed it carefully and came up with very tasty powdery mess. IF i were to try it again I would not wait for it to get all the way down to 110 degrees (this took a long time), then stir in vanilla very briefly then immediately add pecans and "pour" --if you wait until "not glossy" its toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
An awful experience for someone who has a lot of experience making fudge and other similar candies!!! I had never made Panocha (or Penuche) so I decided to try this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and everything appeared to going perfectly. After my candy cooled down to 110, I added the vanilla and started beating it. Just as it started to lose its shine, I added the pecans and it seemed to come together perfectly. As soon as I got ready to spread the candy, it turned to a dry, crumbly, sugary mess!!! Please enlighten me and tell me what I could have done differently. I tasted the dry, crumbly, sugary mess and was able to tell that had it turned out correctly, it would have tasted delicious! I would love to make this recipe again but not until someone explaines to me what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovetosparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poquoson, Virginia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
well, dont beat this with an electric mixer, after about 30 seconds, this turned into a huge crumbly mess. I'm working on my second batch, and i decided to add a bit of corn syrup, and see if that helps. will also try to use the condensed milk. hope that works out better. it seems like alot of other people had a lot of luck with this one, so i will try again. but if it fails again, i'll let you know the second attempt failed! this turned into a huge crumbly mess again! i tried to stir with a spoon, checked the candy thermometer, did not overcook. not sure what happened, but i spent several wasted hours, and wont try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Burnet, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Wonderful, very sweet. I used 2/3 cup condensed milk because I didn't have any cream on hand. Turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Gardener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuttle, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Loved this recipe. My husband ate almost the entire batch. He's asked me to make more for hist Christmas stocking. Tasted a lot like pralines. I might add more pecans next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This is a strange recipe, very smooth and caramel-like before setting, then turns very sugary after stirring. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States