Penuche Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
This recipe is sooo delicious...like "maple fudge"...such a nice change from same ole' chocolate...AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
make sure you are quick for this candy hardens fast!!! My husband grew up with this and was thrilled that he could taste it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Good stuff! As per another reviewer, I substituted (real) maple extract for some of the vanilla. I also added about a teaspoon of corn syrup to keep crystallization at bay. It was very easy to make. If you have a heavy enameled pot, such as a LeCreuset, this is a great time to use it...you can turn the heat up some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
SO yummy. But you have to be careful not to cook it too long or it will be crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I can’t believe it’s taken me so long to find this recipes since to me, this is what fudge is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This recipe is fabulous!!I have made it four times already for the holiday season and have gotten lots of compliments. I altered it slightly by omitting the nuts and using 1/2 teaspoon maple flavor instead of the vanilla. It tastes as good or better as anything from a fudge shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This is a strange recipe, very smooth and caramel-like before setting, then turns very sugary after stirring. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This was absolutely yummy! It tasted like Pralines. I used walnuts instead of pecans though...you could not tell any difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEHIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hahnville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Made this recipe twice. Fisrt, using heavy cream instead of using half/half and milk. Second time, I used light cream instead of half/half and milk. (2/3 cup of light cream.) Second time it came out so incredibly creamy amd caramelly. So perfect that I will never use any other recipe fr tgis fudge. Make sure your pot is big and heavy. Watch your candy thermometer closely and don't try to get it to the soft ball stage as quickly as you can. I turned my knob down a bit once it started to boil and let it bubble slowly. It came out just unbelieveable. You must try using just light cream....no milk....and use 2/3 cup. Whip it very well with a large heavy whisk when you add vanilla, and you will find it to be like caramel when you pour it into your pan. UNREAL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States