Penny's Whiskey Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Delicious! The whiskey goes very well with the vanilla from the pudding. The pudding makes this very moist and fluffy. Baking time is way overstated - I think mine was in for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatherineO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I have made this cake SO many times and thought maybe I should finally review it. It is DEEELICIOUS! I make 2 versions: this one to the letter and then a chocolate version... just use chocolate cake and chocolate pudding and add 1/3 cup instant dry coffee to mix...follow Penny's directions and this is always a hit! The cake is ALWAYS gone within 10 minutes, so double up on the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Penny
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Not sure why Allrecipes made the removal of the cake from the pan so complicated. ALL I do is let the cake cool about 5 minutes, put a plate or platter on top, then flip it and it falls right out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Delicious cake, however, I wouldn't want to go to work after eating a piece. The whiskey is a little potent. I made it with a butter flavored cake mix, which seemed to work well. The whiskey glaze does have a pretty strong taste to it. If you love whiskey, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This is the same recipe I use for a rum cake and it always is fantastic. Just replace the whiskey with a good quality rum and people will beg for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I have the same recipe with the exception of nuts. In mine ground nuts are added right into the cake mix. I make it as Christmas gifts, by using small loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginn W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Thank you Penny for posting your recipe, Ive been making versions of this cake for years. One of my favorites is to use a white or yellow cake mix and Chambord ~ I also stir a handful of fresh or frozen raspberries into the cake batter. I've made this cake using a pineapple cake mix, well drained pineapple tidbits and pineapple rum. I've also made it using a devils food or a fudge chocolate cake mix, a handful of chocolate chips and then use Kahlua as the liquor... they're all over the top delicious!!! Hmmm, I was just wondering what a lemon cake with lemoncello would taste like or an orange cake with Grand Marnier?? The possibilities are endless!! Thanks again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I've made this for three different functions and each time it gets devoured! Wouldn't change a thing about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Milton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Amazing cake - tastes especially delicious if frozen first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This cake was so moist and delicious. The only thing I changed was I used 1/4 cup whiskey for the glaze instead of the 1/2 cup the recipe calls for. I would definitely recommend this recipe and will make it again for sure! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States