Penny's Whiskey Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Penny
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Not sure why Allrecipes made the removal of the cake from the pan so complicated. ALL I do is let the cake cool about 5 minutes, put a plate or platter on top, then flip it and it falls right out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Thank you Penny for posting your recipe, Ive been making versions of this cake for years. One of my favorites is to use a white or yellow cake mix and Chambord ~ I also stir a handful of fresh or frozen raspberries into the cake batter. I've made this cake using a pineapple cake mix, well drained pineapple tidbits and pineapple rum. I've also made it using a devils food or a fudge chocolate cake mix, a handful of chocolate chips and then use Kahlua as the liquor... they're all over the top delicious!!! Hmmm, I was just wondering what a lemon cake with lemoncello would taste like or an orange cake with Grand Marnier?? The possibilities are endless!! Thanks again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This is the same recipe I use for a rum cake and it always is fantastic. Just replace the whiskey with a good quality rum and people will beg for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I have made this cake SO many times and thought maybe I should finally review it. It is DEEELICIOUS! I make 2 versions: this one to the letter and then a chocolate version... just use chocolate cake and chocolate pudding and add 1/3 cup instant dry coffee to mix...follow Penny's directions and this is always a hit! The cake is ALWAYS gone within 10 minutes, so double up on the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Delicious! The whiskey goes very well with the vanilla from the pudding. The pudding makes this very moist and fluffy. Baking time is way overstated - I think mine was in for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatherineO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I use spice cake mix, pistachio pudding, and Texas pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda North

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wallis, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
After reading reviews, I started watching for cake to be done after 30 min. Mine was done at 45 min. Like Penny said, very easy to remove from the pan but I sprayed liberally with Bakers Secret. Also cut the sauce whiskey down to 1/4 cup because it was going to work. The whiskey in the cake stayed at 1/2 cup. I did not add the whiskey at the end but simmered it 15-20 minutes with the butter/water/sugar to cook off some of the alcohol which worked perfectly as it left just a faint Jack Daniels taste and smell. Next time i will use the whole 1/2 cup in the sauce as cooking it on top the stove is very effective in eliminating the alcohol "bite". I inverted the cake on a plate but changed my mind and instead of poking holes and pouring sauce over, I put the cake back in the pan and poured the syrup around the outer edge so the cake could just sit and soak in the sauce for 10 minutes. Then inverted it back on the plate. Perfect for work if you cook the sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I'm not a big whiskey fan, so the next time I made it with Captain Morgan's Spiced rum and pecans instead of walnuts. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I have the same recipe with the exception of nuts. In mine ground nuts are added right into the cake mix. I make it as Christmas gifts, by using small loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginn W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Amazing cake - tastes especially delicious if frozen first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States