Penny's Whiskey Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This cake was so moist and delicious. The only thing I changed was I used 1/4 cup whiskey for the glaze instead of the 1/2 cup the recipe calls for. I would definitely recommend this recipe and will make it again for sure! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Amazing cake - tastes especially delicious if frozen first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I have made this cake SO many times and thought maybe I should finally review it. It is DEEELICIOUS! I make 2 versions: this one to the letter and then a chocolate version... just use chocolate cake and chocolate pudding and add 1/3 cup instant dry coffee to mix...follow Penny's directions and this is always a hit! The cake is ALWAYS gone within 10 minutes, so double up on the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I've made this for three different functions and each time it gets devoured! Wouldn't change a thing about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Milton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
If you enjoy the flavor of Whiskey you still may not enjoy this cake. My husbands cocktail of choice is Dt. Coke and Maker's and he did not like this cake. It had a bitter aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I use spice cake mix, pistachio pudding, and Texas pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wallis, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Like someone else said, same exact recipe as the Bacardi rum cake. ALWAYS a hit at Christmas. And experimenting with different liquors is awesome...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I'm not a big whiskey fan, so the next time I made it with Captain Morgan's Spiced rum and pecans instead of walnuts. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Thank you Penny for posting your recipe, Ive been making versions of this cake for years. One of my favorites is to use a white or yellow cake mix and Chambord ~ I also stir a handful of fresh or frozen raspberries into the cake batter. I've made this cake using a pineapple cake mix, well drained pineapple tidbits and pineapple rum. I've also made it using a devils food or a fudge chocolate cake mix, a handful of chocolate chips and then use Kahlua as the liquor... they're all over the top delicious!!! Hmmm, I was just wondering what a lemon cake with lemoncello would taste like or an orange cake with Grand Marnier?? The possibilities are endless!! Thanks again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I have the same recipe with the exception of nuts. In mine ground nuts are added right into the cake mix. I make it as Christmas gifts, by using small loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginn W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States