Penny's Whiskey Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I've made this for three different functions and each time it gets devoured! Wouldn't change a thing about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Milton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
If you enjoy the flavor of Whiskey you still may not enjoy this cake. My husbands cocktail of choice is Dt. Coke and Maker's and he did not like this cake. It had a bitter aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I use spice cake mix, pistachio pudding, and Texas pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wallis, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Like someone else said, same exact recipe as the Bacardi rum cake. ALWAYS a hit at Christmas. And experimenting with different liquors is awesome...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I'm not a big whiskey fan, so the next time I made it with Captain Morgan's Spiced rum and pecans instead of walnuts. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Thank you Penny for posting your recipe, Ive been making versions of this cake for years. One of my favorites is to use a white or yellow cake mix and Chambord ~ I also stir a handful of fresh or frozen raspberries into the cake batter. I've made this cake using a pineapple cake mix, well drained pineapple tidbits and pineapple rum. I've also made it using a devils food or a fudge chocolate cake mix, a handful of chocolate chips and then use Kahlua as the liquor... they're all over the top delicious!!! Hmmm, I was just wondering what a lemon cake with lemoncello would taste like or an orange cake with Grand Marnier?? The possibilities are endless!! Thanks again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I have the same recipe with the exception of nuts. In mine ground nuts are added right into the cake mix. I make it as Christmas gifts, by using small loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginn W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This is the same recipe I use for a rum cake and it always is fantastic. Just replace the whiskey with a good quality rum and people will beg for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Delicious! The whiskey goes very well with the vanilla from the pudding. The pudding makes this very moist and fluffy. Baking time is way overstated - I think mine was in for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatherineO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Delicious cake, however, I wouldn't want to go to work after eating a piece. The whiskey is a little potent. I made it with a butter flavored cake mix, which seemed to work well. The whiskey glaze does have a pretty strong taste to it. If you love whiskey, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States