Pennsylvania Greek Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Thanks for the recipe, and the memories. I grew up in Erie, and Greek Dogs and Burgers were a late-night staple, most often from Panos Restaurant. I was recently trying to explain what Greek Dogs were to my daughter, now she knows. We did not get up to Erie this summer, so I'm going to have to have some Smith's hot dogs shipped down to Florida. Thanks to you and your sister, Miz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roz147

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Loved this sauce.. reminds me of home Erie/Corry PA! The only thing I made sure to do (that wasn't mentioned in the recipe) was to mash the browned beef with a potato masher. All of the Greek sauces that I have eaten have an almost smooth consistency. PS~WhitMcMo, we didn't name the recipe or the sauce ~it's called Greek Sauce all over Northwestern PA and here in Western NY too ~ "If it ain't broke, don't fix it!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
My husband and I are Erie natives that moved to SC and were craving greek fries and greek dogs and I came across this recipe. I followed it to a T, and it tastes exactly like RED HOT... Only thing is, it didnt say what kind of cheese to use. Thank goodness I have a friend that works there and she told me!!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
At first I didn't think that this was going to taste right. After I fixed a dog though, it reminded me of the many Greek Dogs I used to eat as a 6th-7th grader from the Greek restaurant down the street from our apartment. This is what I did: I put a hot dog on a bun, topped it with the sauce, sprinkled on some diced sweet onion, squirted a line of mustard, wrapped the whole thing up in some wax paper, let it sit for a few minutes, unwrapped it and enjoyed. It smelled and tasted just like the hot dogs I used to buy from the Greeks. As for the recipe, I mashed the meat up a bit finer as it was cooking. Because I accidentally used about a half a pound more meat than called for, the liquid started to evaporate. I fixed this by adding a little water and powdered beef bullion. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I lost my recipe from the Erie newspaper for greek sauce and came back to my trusted All Recipes. This is great. I used more tomato sauce b/c I only had a larger can, maybe around 12 oz. instead of 8 oz., added a bit more mustard, red pepper, and a squirt of ketchup. I simmered much longer so the additional liquid was used up and broke up the meat very fine using the "P Chef" "Mix & Chop" (my fav tool for ground beef). Served with Smith's hot dogs and used as a topping for baked steak fries. Delicious! Wish my waistline would allow me to eat like this everyday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eecaule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I have been away from home for so long and when I found this recipe it brought back all the memories of Erie, PA.....loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Followed this recipe to the T and it was AMAZING!! Tastes just like the greek sauce at the greek places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orwell, Ohio, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This is a terrific, traditional north western PA Greek sauce. I'm not sure if, like a previous reviewer, there is much that is Greek about it other than the oregano, but I do know that all the Greek restaurants in Erie use something very similar on their hotdogs. When I lived in Erie, I used to buy a mix at the store called Pulos (that greek enough for you?), but now that I'm relocated, I have to do it from scratch and I use this recipe. One tip I will give, which I retain from the old Pulos directions, is to mix your tomatoe sauce in with the raw hamburger if you want your browned hamburger in finer pieces without having to cook it for a long time. Thanks, Miz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Now I don't have to go out to get Greek dogs !!!!! Very easy and just the way I like it,a little spicy. The only thing i did differant was to run this in my food prosesser to give this sauce a smoother consistancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This is a great sauce for dogs and stuff. Delicious just the way it is! I added a few drops of hot sauce the second and third and now fourth time i made it. Good stuff if your looking for chili look on, this is what we call "SAUCE"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States