Pennsylvania Dutch Sour Cream Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Really interesting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I also felt the recipe would be too tart with that much vinegar and I decreased it to a little less than half of what it calls for. It was great. Very flavorful and a nice side for anything bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I remember my gramma making this on cold winter days. She liked to use purple cabbage too. I fix it like she does - using some bacn drippings in with the oil - or replacing the oil. You can cut down on the vinegar and the sugar to taste if you are afraid it will be too sour or sweet. If you are used to Pennsylvania Dutch food though - it will be perfect as written! I can eat it as a meal by itself with some crusty bread slathered in butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living Well

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA
Photo by Michele
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I really liked the sweet/tart flavor. I made enough for 5 servings and cooked it down until it was a thick consistency. My husband didn't think it was bad, and he doesn't care for cabbage. He suggested having it with kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
Just the right combination of sweet and sour, but it was too soupy. I had to thicken it with mashed potato flakes. Next time I'll cut the vinegar and sugar in half. I grew up in the largely German section of South Saint Louis, and my mother also did a similar dish with bacon instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
Tried this recipe a second time with just a 1/4 cup of vinegar. I liked it better. The tartness in the orignal recipe was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Still delicious with a lot less sugar and vinegar. I used a large head of cabbage, 1 stick butter, 1/2 c sugar, 1 c vinegar, and the 2 cups of sour cream. It was very rich. Next time, I think I will use 4 T butter, 1/2 sugar, 1 c vinegar and 1 c sour cream, which in my book is still a pretty rich vegetable recipe. Don't get me wrong, it tasted great with all that butter and sour cream, but it could still be great with a lot less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMACRI

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
I made this just as the recipe said and it did not turn out at all. It tasted horrible and made my apartment stink for hours. Could have been just me I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States