Pennsylvania Dutch Potato Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jessica
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Taste great even making it with gluten free bread family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
My family has been making this for decades. We always boil the potatos with a tablespoon of saffron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Grew up with this--it wouldn't be a holiday meal without it. The secret ingredient is eggs. Both my grandmothers always mixed in several raw eggs as they were mashing the potatoes. Gives it a little color and "crustiness" when baked. (5 stars if you go easy on the salt and saute the bread cubes with the onions and celery.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShaunaR
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
It is interesting when this recipe receives a bad review based on when someone else suggests adding in "fun" alternatives to it. This is the bare bones recipe. Please only review it based on that, not on what others added or didn't add. These are amazing potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShaunaR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I gave this recipe 1 star for the following reasons..... 1. The season salt. 3 TBS is a ton of salt in the first place and real PA Dutch filling doesn't have season salt in it. Just salt and pepper. 2. The fact that the bread is just to be added soft into the potatoes as they are in the mixing stage. This is very odd. The bread should be cubed and browned in more butter then added after the potatoes have already been mashed. 3. The lack of eggs 4. The crazy amount of butter on top. The top should be dotted with a TBS or 2 of butter but 1/2 cup is way to much. The majority of butter should be in the dish not on it. You are already cooking the celery onions and bread in butter not to mention making the mashed potatoes with butter. 5. The veggies should be softened but not browned. 6. This should be made the day before to allow the flavors to really meld together 7. This dish should NOT be covered while baking. When putting the filling in the dish do not smooth the top down all the little peeks and the top will get a yummy brown top. And last but not least even more season salt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
i grew up in lehigh county pa. we always had this at holiday meals. my mother would put several eggs into mixture and parsley. make extra and freeze. sarah krout
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warrington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Great recipe that we enjoy at family gatherings. We make ours with bacon, onion, celery and lots of parsley. We use less bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This is it! This is the same recipe that my Grandmother made!! I believe that marjoram is the "secret ingredient" that you are missing. THANK YOU for submitting this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boonton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
hi , this is an update to my review.this is so awesome i make it at least once or twice a month because of requests.new story for u. i mentioned before my son drives truck he is here once or twice a week. i always make meals for him to take w/him.he has been sharing some of his food with other drivers.they love this dish. i went with him on a trip.when i met some of his co-drivers, they said ur the one that makes that delic potato thing.some even offered me money to make it. i told them to go to allrecipies to get the recipe so their wives could make it for them.. thanks again shuanaR for sharing. its a stand by for me now.and it freezes great thanx again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deer Lake, Newfoundland, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States