Pennsylvania Dutch Pickled Beets and Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Excellent, exactly what I was looking for. I had fresh beets so I used the juice from cooking the beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I tried this for Easter thinking it would be fun to have eggs colored in this manner. The real prize for me though, was the wonderful flavor it made the beets. I didn't think the pickled beets I bought at the store could be improved. The eggs turned out very pretty, even after just 24 hours, and tasted wonderful. I also tried leaving the shells on after gently cracking them all over. It gave an interesting marbled look. This was fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Was ok but I still prefer using jars of pickled beets, the store brand is usually best but pick whichever looks more deep purple. For 6-7 eggs I simmer only 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup cider vinegar with the juice from 1 16oz jar of pickled beets and it tastes exactly like the ones my Pennsylvania Dutch Grandma made and is much easier. Don't forget to stir or shake once or twice a day for even color. 48 hrs is a minimum, will usually take four days to be colored through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
These pickled eggs were very good! I made them for a picnic so I doubled the recipe and pickled 1 1/2 doz eggs. The cloves, bay leaf, and onion added a nice flavor. I would make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Du Bois, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
My mother makes pickled eggs with beets, but instead of the brine she puts in a jar of the little yellow hot peppers along with the juice. Wax peppers, not pepperoncini. If you're looking for a less sweet version, you might like it that way. This is also an Easter favorite for us, as the eggs come out looking so pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
This recipe is absolutely excellent. None of the spices were too strong and each complemented the other. The colours of the eggs when sliced, added contrast to other appetizers. I will most certainly be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
I use any type of beets, no Bay leaves and fewer cloves. This just like my old family recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
Thanks so much Cindy for this great recipe. Grandma never wrote hers down and I've been craving these every year at Easter. These are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Tasty eggs. The purple color is outrageous! For my taste, a bit too sweet. However, if you put some tobasco on these, the sweet / hot flavor is very, very good. A good recipe for those who like their pickled eggs a bit sweeter. If you prefer sour, you might not prefer these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I LOVE THIS RECIPE THESE EGGS GO GOOD WITH BEER! BILL H IN FTW, TX.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States