Pennsylvania Dutch Pickled Beets and Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Instead of canned pickled beets, I use fresh. I peel, slice and boil them until tender (maybe 30 or 40 minutes), then proceed with the recipe. They turn out just fine. This is a super recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
These eggs are delicious! I made these alongside traditional pickled eggs (made with white vinegar, onion, pickling spice) to compare. It was difficult for me to decide, I lean a little more towards traditional. However, everyone I made these for went crazy for the Pennsylvania version. Especially because I quartered them and made a floral-inspired display which was beautiful because of the colored layers of the pickled egg mixed with the fading pinks and reds in the onion triangles. The only problem I have with the recipe is that it's a little awkward, the juice you need is about 1 and 1/4 cans, and I only used one can's worth of beets..that's just me, I felt like 2 full cans of beets would just end up as leftovers. The first time I made these I didn't have a jar and just used a bowl. I'm not guaranteeing for everyone's dishware, but for me it was just enough to cover the eggs although it was pretty wide. These are delicious, easy to make, inexpensive, and visually tasty. I definitely recommend putting in the effort to make these. Thank you for sharing this recipe, I already gave it to my sister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
My ex-mother in law used to make these eggs and I loved them. I have looked for a recipe for years so that I could make them myself. I add a couple sticks of cinnamon to the juice while cooking and slices of onion to the jar with the eggs and beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
My husband loved these. Need I say anything more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
These are the very much like my husband's grandmother's pickled eggs. My family loved them; they were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BHLLAL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This recipe is perfect as listed. DO NOT CHANGE A THING! Awesome flavor and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTY72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Newton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
The best recipe for pickled eggs and beets I have ever made. And one that will be made again in this house for many years to come. Thank you for the perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I enjoyed these eggs, but will probably not repeat the recipe as they were too sweet for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schipperke Trainer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Excellent recipe! As a child growing up, my mom made pickled eggs and beets each year as part of our Easter tradition. I always looked forward to them, and I wanted to find a recipe that matched the way I remember them tasting. This one did the trick! I have a large glass gallon pickle jar that I wanted to fill, so I actually used 20 hard-boiled eggs, and I quadrupled (yes, four times as much) the rest of the ingredients. I used 4 cans of regular (not pickled) whole beets, which gave me 4 cups of juice. To the juice I added 4 cups of sugar, 3 cups of vinegar, 2 tsps. salt, 1 tsp. pepper, 8 bay leaves, and 48 whole cloves (they're small!). (As for the onion, I used one extra-large onion, cut it in half, and sliced it into thin half-rings.) It sounds like a lot, but it made just enough liquid to pour over the eggs, onions and beets in the jar, with just a little left over. I made two layers each of the three items in the jar--first beets, then onions, then eggs. I recommend allowing them to refrigerate at least 3 to 4 days. I made them on Saturday afternoon (3/15), and this morning, Wednesday (3/19), they finally taste like they've developed the full pickled flavor. Yummy! Thanks, Cindy, for helping me to recall some fond childhood memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
One of my favorites! I've never had ham without pickled eggs, and these come out just like the ones my grandmother used to make when I was little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States