Pennsylvania Dutch Pickled Beets and Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Yum ~ just like granny used to make. I like the sweetness of the pickling in these eggs, especially when paired with a horseradish or mustard cream as a condiment to them. I followed this recipe exactly, except I had to top off my container with maybe 1/2 cup water to get the brine to cover the eggs in my container. Worked out fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Just wanted to say that I tripled this recipe (24 eggs) and I really only needed 4 jars of pickled beets (500ml each), which gave me exactly 3 cups of juice. Maybe my containers are too small, but I couldn't imagine fitting another 2 jars of beets in there. The proportions ended up perfectly. I accidentally cooked the onions with the juice, then added to the eggs & beets... I hope this wasn't a grave mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
These were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Excellent. We added sliced onions to it. Left in fridge for a week and turned out great. Made 60 eggs and took them to a Club we are members to. Everybody love them, so much they are asking for the recipe. Really good. Even the onions dont have onion taste, it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Great! I let mine sit for four days. The eggs were so pretty when sliced! And they tasted just like Grandma's! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Show Low, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Excellent. Just like my Mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pickering Ford Farm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
We've tried a lot of pickled egg recipes and this is by far the best. Even my daughter ate them - and she hates pickled anything! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjmoelady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Kane, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Perfect. Just like I remembered. A big hit with the hubs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
These remind me of my childhood :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Gamber

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
great pickeled eggs. also added sliced onions. did'nt change a thing. thanks lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States