Pennsylvania Dutch Pickled Beets and Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
We always had this at Easter when I was a child since we had so many hard boiled eggs left over from the Easter Bunny. My mother used to go one step further, with the leftover beets and pickled eggs - she made 'Beet Salad' - similar to making potato salad, but use beets in place of potatoes. Dice the beets, dice the eggs, chop some celery and onion (if you like both or either) and mix with mayonaisse. The color is amazing as the mayo takes on a beautiful pink color - and the taste is something you'll love forever. Its too bad people have this fear or hatred towards beets - they are the best thing out there! Try the beet salad, you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Made exactly per recipe and it was perfect! Reminded me of when I would sneak them out of the refrigerator as a child- always loved these! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamatika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I used 1/2 the sugar that recipe called for. Was overall well received for Easter. I might make them again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilroy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Ok, first I did not follow completely the amount of ingredients. I used only half a cup of sugar, a pinch of ground cloves and only one 15 once jar of pickled beets. I thought the sugar was a bit much, as well as cloves. Used a quart mason jar and they came out very good! I know....I changed it so how can I rate the recipe? And plus give it 5 stars? Without Cindy`s recipe I could not have made them. Thank you Cindy! These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
These were good, but a little too sweet. I will definetely make them again, but use less sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Very sweet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
The best we've ever had! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dutch Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Although I didn't use bay leaves, a lot less sugar and only a 1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves, this is almost identical to my late Mother's recipe! I usually double the recipe, my son and I just can't seem to get enough of these when I make them...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Perfect! Just like I had growing up. Thanks for the recipe Cindy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These were to sweet for me. They taste sort of like hardboiled eggs do in a salad with vinegar and oil dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States