Pennsylvania Dutch Pickled Beets and Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I just used regular beets, but that being said, this recipe is so good. Probably could use less sugar and it would still turn out excellent. Beets and eggs together? Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I can't believe how amazing these are! I made one change. Instead of using 1 c. sugar, I used 1/3 tsp NuNaturals Nustevia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
OMG. I thought I was the only one in the world who knew about pickled eggs with beets! Mom made these for holidays when I was growing up. She did it for her father-in-law who came from Pennsylvania. We loved taking these in our school lunches to gross out the other kids. tee hee. Now my adult kids actually like them though i don't make them often enough. Thanks for including these recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Excellent! I doubled the recipe and used 12 eggs (24) instead of 8. I used canned whole beets (4 cans). I also doubled the liquid (4x's) as it did not quite cover the beets and eggs. Put everything in a gallon glass jar.Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I was excited when I found this recipe. My great grandmother had a wonderful recipe for Pennsylvania Dutch Pickled Eggs and I was really hoping this was it. Unfortunately, I think it lacked the vinegar(y) flavor hers had. I did marinate them for over 60 hours, too. The whites were still showing inside! Guess I'll keep looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
made exactly as per recipe. Too sweet and no other flavor, really..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I loved this recipe. A little sweet, but an extra 1/2 cup of vinegar took care of that. Home-canned beets are best to use, but store-bought works fine. I prefer the onions in thick sliced rings, because I love pickled onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This recipe is perfect. My Mother always made them when she was alive, & I never bothered to get the recipe. When I saw this one I knew it had to be close. I used fresh beets, no onion or bay leaves, but used cloves; both whole & ground. I can remember her pickled eggs having cloves. I just made it a while ago and they turned out perfect. I finally found Mom's recipe! My Dad is still alive (88 years of age) and he agrees. Love it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
These are fabulous! I cut the sugar in half, I think the full amount would be way to sweet, but otherwise it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I love these pickled eggs- they have the perfect flavor in my opinion. I did not have an onion so I used 2 cloves of finely minced garlic instead, and I used ground clove in place of whole cloves and they still came out wonderful. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States