Pennsylvania Dutch Pickled Beets and Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This recipe was perfect and everyone in the family really loved these eggs. I did use whole peppercorns, instead of ground black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I made these for a party, and everyone wanted the recipe. That was the first time I made pickled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Liverpool, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
These are the best! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This was a good recipe, however I'm still in search of one a little less vinegary and herby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
These are delicious. I love beets & eggs, but never pickled them together, and had only had "hot" pickled eggs in the past. Glad I tried this! I served them on a green salad with ranch dressing and they were a hit with my guest! Very pretty after 4 days - the color was all the way through to the yolks. I'm making them again today - they will be a "regular" around here, for sure! Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I just used regular beets, but that being said, this recipe is so good. Probably could use less sugar and it would still turn out excellent. Beets and eggs together? Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I can't believe how amazing these are! I made one change. Instead of using 1 c. sugar, I used 1/3 tsp NuNaturals Nustevia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
OMG. I thought I was the only one in the world who knew about pickled eggs with beets! Mom made these for holidays when I was growing up. She did it for her father-in-law who came from Pennsylvania. We loved taking these in our school lunches to gross out the other kids. tee hee. Now my adult kids actually like them though i don't make them often enough. Thanks for including these recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Excellent! I doubled the recipe and used 12 eggs (24) instead of 8. I used canned whole beets (4 cans). I also doubled the liquid (4x's) as it did not quite cover the beets and eggs. Put everything in a gallon glass jar.Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I was excited when I found this recipe. My great grandmother had a wonderful recipe for Pennsylvania Dutch Pickled Eggs and I was really hoping this was it. Unfortunately, I think it lacked the vinegar(y) flavor hers had. I did marinate them for over 60 hours, too. The whites were still showing inside! Guess I'll keep looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States