Pennsylvania Dutch Corn Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
My Dad is PA Dutch as well. He use to make this for us a lot when we were kids. He is now passed and I'm making it this year at our Christmas Eve get together. He only put crust on the top. It was absolutely fantastic! I would recommend this to everyone! Merry Christmas everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
With a little TLC (a little celery salt and a pinch of onion powder) this is the best corn pie recipe that I have found. I live in PA. near Lancaster and this tastes just as good as they make here. So try it and play around with it and trust me you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Heebner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This is AMAZING. I live an was raised in East Central PA, right in Amish Country! I have heard of corn pie and but never had it... I was in the mood to try something different that was nice and hardy, and would also please my husbands taste buds... This recipe was a winner! Between the two of us we ate 3/4 of the pie and then finished it off the next day for lunch. I made a few adjustments... 1. I omitted the eggs... I just didn't feel like they were necessary. 2. I added chicken breasts... One good size breast is the right amount. I boiled and shredded it before I put together the filling. 3. I did 3/4 cup of milk instead of 1/2 cup since I was adding chicken. 4. For some extra flavor I added 1 diced carrot, 1/2 of a chopped onion, and 2 large garlic cloves, minced. I also sprinkled in some ground sage, celery salt, and fresh parsley in addition to salt and pepper. It was truly delicious and I will be adding it to the rotation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I did not try this recipe..because, my Grandmother's was only made with fresh corn..it was cut off the cob and then scraped to get the milky residue released salt and pepper was added along with many pats of butter and a little half&Half ..this was always a summer dish and was served with great sliced tomatoes ,,it was the main dish. s
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Maupay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
My Mother was Pa Dutch and made allot of Dutch foods. I loved these and still do. This one is so good,never thought I could make one myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Boyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Husband and 8 year old both said it was delicious! I grew up eating this and always loved it. I only had to bake it for 30 minutes. The corn was a little too cooked at that point, but the potatoes were done perfectly. Crust browned nicely. Will definitely make again, especially on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
i added a c. of cheddar and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This is almost exactly how my Pennsylvania Dutch grandmother made corn pie - she didn't use a bottom crust, didn't use creamed corn, and mixed some crumbled saltine crackers in with the filling. Otherwise, it's right on the nose and I love it! To me it's not bland - true flavors of corn, potatoes and eggs come through. Hearty, filling and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
It was very bland tasting, though easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Very good recipie :D I used some home grown super swet corn and crumbled in 2 slices of applewood smoked bacon ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States