Pennsylvania Coal Region Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Easy and yummy! Doesn't get much better than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I grew up in PA eating a similar barbeque. I use a bottle of chili sauce in place of the ketchup, add a half of a green pepper and a Tbls of worchestershire sauce. Easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This is a good quick bbq sandwich. I have been making this for years and I got the recipe from my great grandmother! the only difference our recipe adds 1/2 tsp of worchestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Just like my mom used to make growing up..only a little sweeter, which my family loved. Next time will add a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickalena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Just like my grandma makes, we do sometimes sub the ketchup with salsa if none is in the house or not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallock, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Rockford, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This is our sloppy joe recipe along with the other reviewers here. Taste great on toasted english muffins topped with cheese and broiled. Sloppy Joe Pizza's got many of us fed in college cheaply !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cooperstown, New York, USA
Living In: East Greenbush, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
this was good,but to me it tasted a lot like manwich, so the cost is about the same...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Made this last night for picky son. Used chopped red onion because that's all I had. Tasted the sauce as I made it - added about 2 tsp of worchestershire sauce, some onion powder, some garlic powder, and about 2 tsp of spicy brown mustard in place of regular yellow mustard to cut the taste of ketchup. I thought it was much better than the canned sloppy joe stuff and my son ate two, so he must have agreed with me. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Good stuff. This is the same recipe my mom always made. I am from PA. LOL. I think she used to put a dash of Worcestershire sauce in it though also. I never used to be crazy about it when I was a child, but I do get cravings for it sometimes now that I'm older. Sometimes I throw pepper pieces into the meat along w the onion and that's really good too, or chopped tomato pieces. If you're having company and want to make a lot, you can put it in the slow cooker after you brown and drain the beef. You can keep it on low for hours. And, it stays moist as long as your guests don't leave the lid off of the slow cooker! I have added honey instead of sugar before also, and that was good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I've been making this for years, we call it Beef BBQ. Learned the recipe from my mom she used to make it all the time. I think it blows regular sloppy joes out of the water! Yes, I'm from PA btw ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States