Pennsylvania Coal Region Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Jena
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Visiting my Gram's farm in NW Iowa was always a treat because this is what she made, only we called it Taverns, and it was my favorite. I've been married 25 years and this is something I often made for my family as well. I sometimes alter the recipe depending on my mood. If I want a kick, I add horseradish, if I want it sweeter I add more ketchup and brown sugar (and please don't exchange the ketchup for tomato sauce or you'll just ruin the effect). This is really good, quick, fast and uses ingredients you already have. So what are you waiting for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Pretty darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilmar, California, USA
Living In: Oakdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
WOW!!! This dish really had my taste buds going wild with the flavors of SWEET AND TANGY at the same time. At first, I wasn't sure if I liked it because of the strong tangy flavor then all of a sudden you tasted the sweet. A very nice fun balance of flavors {****}, compliment it with a COLD BEER and it rates {*****} Great job Mollypitcher, and thank you for the COAL-PACKER Barbecue recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I wanted to surprise my husband with a "hometown" dish (he is from Scranton, PA). I followed the recipe except I used tomato paste instead of ketchup and it turned out excellent. We will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
The best sloppy joe ever! I didn't have the white vinegar on hand so I substituted white wine vinegar instead. Just as good! Other than that I followed the recipe exact! This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fabulous77

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
In a family of five, two people rated it a 5 and 3 people rated it a 4. I increased the mustard to 1 T, and decreased the sugar to 3/4 T. and substituted tomato sauce for the ketchup. Then, I doubled the recipe - we had very little left over. It was a hit, and I loved it because it was super easy and quick for a hectic night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This is a great alternative to purchasing those overpriced sloppy joe packets, especially when most households have most of these ingredients in the house anyway. I did add more brown sugar, and ketchup. The good thing about this recipe is that you can add more ingredients if needed once you taste it, and customize it. I think I have seen the last time that I purchase the packets, Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I made this for dinner last night and it was a hit! My husband was apprehensive, as the ingrediants were pretty simple and few, but he LOVED IT! I didnt have buns so we used bread, or just ate it as is. I added 2 tbsp more brown sugar, and I used ketchup as written. I liked it with the ketchup, as it is sweeter and my family LOVES ketchup! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angeldae23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Drayton Valley, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
My husband says it is better than Manwhich (and he is a huge fan of that). I used tomato sauce as recommended by another reviewer. Also I made about 1/4 extra of the sauce and cooked it a bit longer to let the flavors really set (in the 1/4 sauce batch I used a bit less sugar). Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Excellent, Lou and I had as a dinner made sandwiches on French Rolls to Die For recipe on this site. Really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3

Displaying results 131-140 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Barbecue Smoked Sausage Pizza

Make a tantalizing, tasty BBQ pizza with smoked sausage and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States