Pennsylvania Coal Region Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
In a family of five, two people rated it a 5 and 3 people rated it a 4. I increased the mustard to 1 T, and decreased the sugar to 3/4 T. and substituted tomato sauce for the ketchup. Then, I doubled the recipe - we had very little left over. It was a hit, and I loved it because it was super easy and quick for a hectic night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This is a great alternative to purchasing those overpriced sloppy joe packets, especially when most households have most of these ingredients in the house anyway. I did add more brown sugar, and ketchup. The good thing about this recipe is that you can add more ingredients if needed once you taste it, and customize it. I think I have seen the last time that I purchase the packets, Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I made this for dinner last night and it was a hit! My husband was apprehensive, as the ingrediants were pretty simple and few, but he LOVED IT! I didnt have buns so we used bread, or just ate it as is. I added 2 tbsp more brown sugar, and I used ketchup as written. I liked it with the ketchup, as it is sweeter and my family LOVES ketchup! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angeldae23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Drayton Valley, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
My husband says it is better than Manwhich (and he is a huge fan of that). I used tomato sauce as recommended by another reviewer. Also I made about 1/4 extra of the sauce and cooked it a bit longer to let the flavors really set (in the 1/4 sauce batch I used a bit less sugar). Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Excellent, Lou and I had as a dinner made sandwiches on French Rolls to Die For recipe on this site. Really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This is EXCELLENT!! Our family loved this. My 2 year old doesn't like bread but ate 3 huge spoonfuls. Next time I will double the recipe so I have leftovers. My husband ate his on a buns, but I ate mine on rice and let me tell you what, that is very, very good. It doesn't taste like sloppy joes at all. We really enjoyed this and I will be making it a lot in the future. The only change was adding 1 TBSP water to it because it seemed to thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidiw

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I thought that this was going to be great based on the reviews, even though I was skeptical. And I should have known better. This recipe is sickly sweet. Not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was wonderful...I grew up with Man-Wich...and my husband grew up with just ketchup and meat....This was a perfect blend of both...I have been sauteing onions, bell pepper & fresh garlic in a tbs of sesame oil. Then putting that aside and brown the the beef, after draining of the fat....you mix back in the onions and bell pepper mix. It retains the juice so they dont get drained off with the fat....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Halee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I'm a sloppy joe fanatic. I have a half-dozen recipes for it, but this one shot to the top and I'm throwing several out. I took a taste as it was cooking, and was worried that it would be too sweet. But after it simmered and the flavors combined, it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Wow! I will never look at a can of Manwich the same way again. I ate my share of "sloppy joes" as a kid; I always found the sauce to be overpowering, gloppy and too tomato-y. This recipe, however, has just the right amount of moisture and a really nice combination of flavors. I did have to use spicy brown mustard in lieu of yellow, since I was out. Next time I will add hot sauce for more kick--though I don't think you really need to add or omit anything from this simple, fabulous dish. I served this on toasted/lightly buttered English muffins, which is the way I've always eaten my Manwich. My only complaint is that I didn't make enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEADGIRRRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States