Pennsylvania Coal Region Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Made it just the way it was and it came out perfect! No more buying expensive Manwich cans at all and less sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Okay, not rave reviews...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I have been making this recipe for years (except that I also add 1.5 T of worchestershire sauce) and it is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
My youngest son and husband gave ratings of 5. I rated a four but that was just because I thought it was a little sweet but still very good. Loved the simplicity of this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
A winner in our house for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I live in PA, and while we don't have any coal mining in my area that I know of, the next town over is a steel town, where my mother lived for a while growing up. She makes a BBQ very similar to this one (though she doesn't add vinegar). It had very good flavor, and was super quick, easy, and cheap to make for our lunch yesterday. We both liked it, though I think I might have preferred a touch more vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jena
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Visiting my Gram's farm in NW Iowa was always a treat because this is what she made, only we called it Taverns, and it was my favorite. I've been married 25 years and this is something I often made for my family as well. I sometimes alter the recipe depending on my mood. If I want a kick, I add horseradish, if I want it sweeter I add more ketchup and brown sugar (and please don't exchange the ketchup for tomato sauce or you'll just ruin the effect). This is really good, quick, fast and uses ingredients you already have. So what are you waiting for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Pretty darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilmar, California, USA
Living In: Oakdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
WOW!!! This dish really had my taste buds going wild with the flavors of SWEET AND TANGY at the same time. At first, I wasn't sure if I liked it because of the strong tangy flavor then all of a sudden you tasted the sweet. A very nice fun balance of flavors {****}, compliment it with a COLD BEER and it rates {*****} Great job Mollypitcher, and thank you for the COAL-PACKER Barbecue recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I wanted to surprise my husband with a "hometown" dish (he is from Scranton, PA). I followed the recipe except I used tomato paste instead of ketchup and it turned out excellent. We will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States