Pennsylvania Coal Region Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Just like my mom used to make growing up..only a little sweeter, which my family loved. Next time will add a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickalena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Just like my grandma makes, we do sometimes sub the ketchup with salsa if none is in the house or not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallock, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Rockford, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This is our sloppy joe recipe along with the other reviewers here. Taste great on toasted english muffins topped with cheese and broiled. Sloppy Joe Pizza's got many of us fed in college cheaply !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cooperstown, New York, USA
Living In: East Greenbush, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
this was good,but to me it tasted a lot like manwich, so the cost is about the same...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Made this last night for picky son. Used chopped red onion because that's all I had. Tasted the sauce as I made it - added about 2 tsp of worchestershire sauce, some onion powder, some garlic powder, and about 2 tsp of spicy brown mustard in place of regular yellow mustard to cut the taste of ketchup. I thought it was much better than the canned sloppy joe stuff and my son ate two, so he must have agreed with me. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Good stuff. This is the same recipe my mom always made. I am from PA. LOL. I think she used to put a dash of Worcestershire sauce in it though also. I never used to be crazy about it when I was a child, but I do get cravings for it sometimes now that I'm older. Sometimes I throw pepper pieces into the meat along w the onion and that's really good too, or chopped tomato pieces. If you're having company and want to make a lot, you can put it in the slow cooker after you brown and drain the beef. You can keep it on low for hours. And, it stays moist as long as your guests don't leave the lid off of the slow cooker! I have added honey instead of sugar before also, and that was good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I've been making this for years, we call it Beef BBQ. Learned the recipe from my mom she used to make it all the time. I think it blows regular sloppy joes out of the water! Yes, I'm from PA btw ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This is our family Sloppy Joe recipe- the only way I've ever known Sloppy Joes to be. And holding true to the name, I'm the proud grand-daughter of 2 PA coal miners. We most often substitute onion powder for the chopped variety but everything else is the same. Great also between 2 slices of store bought white bread. Guaranteed crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forever_donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Creek, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I'm from the soft coal region of PA. Been making this for years. I like to add a little green pepper. Does wonderful in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gipsy, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cherry Tree, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Super Easy, Super Hit with two little Super Kids..... If it's Kid Approved it's 5 Star! Hit with us adults too. Followed exactly and thought it much better than manwich and the envelope sloppy joe mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graphxlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States