Pennsylvania Coal Region Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I made this a few months back (weird, my review seems to have vanished) for my boys (as in husband and two kids) as they like any kind of meat dish you slap into a bun. I did add a mess of fresh minced garlic but I made no other changes. My husband thought it could use a little more "umph" but the two boys liked it okay. This is pretty much a simple sloppy joe. If I made this again, I'd play around with the recipe a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I have to say, this surprised me. I had a pound of ground beef thawed for chili and no one felt like it, so I made these instead. The only thing I added was a dash of worstishire. My Manwich loving hubby thought they were great and my non-Mamwich loving 5 yr old son thought they were great also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This meal is what we in the south call a "Sloppy Joe". I have tried several recipes that my 3 year old and myself liked but my husband wasn't crazy about. BUT, this one was a hit for all of us! It is by far my favorite and my husband actually likes it! The only change I made (bc my hubby doesn't like pieces of onions) is I use onion powder instead of onions. YUMMY! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Great recipe! I made it exactly as is. Read a can of the sloppy joe sauce and see all the "extra" stuff in there you are not getting if you try this home-made recipe. thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This was excellent. I made exactly as directed and it turned out so good and was so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Classic, simple, fast, rich tasting. Kid's love it. All you could ask for in a Sloppy Joe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This is the best sloppy joes I have had in...well, ever. I will defanitly make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
i dont care for canned bbq sauce but we have it once in a while. not again. this recipe was so darn good i was eating more of it instead of putting it away for leftovers. yum! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was good for a quick sloppy-joe type meal. I would have added some extra veggies such as celery, carrot, etc., diced quite small. Would have made 1 lb of hamburger stretch further and I think given it a bit more flavor. I did follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Good alternative to Manwhich, although I think I prefer the canned stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleag05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Barbecue Smoked Sausage Pizza

Make a tantalizing, tasty BBQ pizza with smoked sausage and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States