Pennsylvania Coal Region Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Ran out of ketchup, tried tomato paste. No go. Totally changes the end result. I'm originally from the coal country area of Pennsylvania(near Pine Grove) and once I did the recipe with the ketchup, then it brought back memories of my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This really is pretty good! It is a sloppy joe cousin. The key is definately to let it simmer with the ketchup, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
What wonderful flavours! It was great to find a ground beef recipe that wasn't lasagne, chilli or meatballs! Everbody loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Very tasty and very easy to make. Everyone should try it at least once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
If you omit the ketchup and substitute tomato sauce then you are not making barbeque. I have used homemade ketchup but thats what makes it. Its a Pa Dutch recipe often made in large batches for gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
If you are expecting something spectacular this recipe isn't for you. Has a nice flavor, is quick and easy. I used the instructions to get it started but then put it in the slow cooker for the flavors to meld all day. Just couldn't get the nice dark color in the photo. Nice reminder that a good meal doesn't need to be complicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Love this. So easy, and SO GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
a taste of home!yay!recently moved to texas from PA and let me tell you the food here is SO different :| and I crave tastes of PA food and THIS did the job! Thanks! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirkie1
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mineola, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
My husband put it well....TASTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This gets five stars not only for ease but also for taste. The mustard is the secret - my family doesn't like mustard, but never realized it was in there and loved the kick it added. To make this healthier I used ground chicken instead of beef and subbed half the ketchup with tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States