Pennsylvania Coal Region Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This recipes brought back memories!! This is very similar to the recipe I grew up with. I had forgotten about this one. I did add 1/2 cup celery and 1T. worchestershire sauce as my mother did. Thank You for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This was quick and easy and we really liked it.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
We love this very much; this past week we made it for the 2nd time (usually I review right away but I forgot). The flavor is perfect and unique, and it's so quick & easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Awesome! We loved it. I substituted cider vinegar for white and onion powder for chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Sadly this was disappointing. I followed the recipe exactly, but it was far too sweet, even with only 2 tsp of brown sugar and overwhelmingly ketchup flavoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I consider this a step up from a sloppy joe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
this was soooo good. salt and pepper are a must also added garlic powder, all season salt, a little more brown sugar and a small amount of velveeta cheese. let it simmer so that it was well mixed. my kids loved it and so did i and a few of us don't like sloppy joe so this a great alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I'll admit, I like Manwich. It's a lazy-night-staple in our house. This is so much better, and really just as easy. I like the sweet/sour taste. I used a whole large onion, as we love onion, but followed the recipe otherwise and everyone ate it up and went back for seconds. I won't be buying sloppy-joe mix anymore, as I always have these ingredients in the house, and all this requires is chopping an onion. Thanks for a great twist on a boring-old favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Well, this was a surprise. Except for the vinegar, the sauce of this "barbecue" is the same mixture my mother always used atop her meatloaves. Just that little touch of vinegar turned the corner from meatloaf topping to barbecue! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Easy and good. Wish I'd tried it sooner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States