Pennsylvania Coal Region Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Our go to BBQ recipe! Everyone loves it, even my picky kids! We make this several times a month. I leave out the onions(my kids don't like them), but I'll add a little onion powder. Other then that we make as is. We always top it with whatever kind of cheese we have on hand. Sharp cheddar is my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I've been making this recipe ever since I can remember. I grew up in PA, of course. Now, when I'm looking for a taste of home, I throw some of this "barbecue" together and serve it up with some pierogies. The whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Yes and we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I made this using what I had in the fridge. I used brown mustard rather than yellow and apple cider instead of white and it turned out so good!! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Damgaard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I have made this a few times and even made a large batch for our family reunion. Everyone there's nothing left, my family loves it. The only changes i made was adding garlic and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
The whole family loved this! It's a quick and easy sloppy joe recipe without the packets. Will definitely be making this again. I was a little worried about letting it simmer for 15 minutes because there wasn't much liquid left, but I never had any issues. Perfect flavor and not too runny that it soaks into the bun! Great with homemade shells and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Missouri, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I make this all the time! But I just eyeball the ingredients-- I don't really measure and it always comes out great. I add green peppers to cook with the onion so they are soft as well. Because these sloppy joes are so messy I usually serve them on an open bun. Corn on the cob is a popular side with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was a huge hit. I made it with Johnsonville sausage instead of ground beef and everyone raved about it and wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Barbecue Smoked Sausage Pizza

Make a tantalizing, tasty BBQ pizza with smoked sausage and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States