Pennsylvania Coal Region Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I made this using what I had in the fridge. I used brown mustard rather than yellow and apple cider instead of white and it turned out so good!! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I have made this a few times and even made a large batch for our family reunion. Everyone there's nothing left, my family loves it. The only changes i made was adding garlic and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
The whole family loved this! It's a quick and easy sloppy joe recipe without the packets. Will definitely be making this again. I was a little worried about letting it simmer for 15 minutes because there wasn't much liquid left, but I never had any issues. Perfect flavor and not too runny that it soaks into the bun! Great with homemade shells and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Missouri, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I make this all the time! But I just eyeball the ingredients-- I don't really measure and it always comes out great. I add green peppers to cook with the onion so they are soft as well. Because these sloppy joes are so messy I usually serve them on an open bun. Corn on the cob is a popular side with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was a huge hit. I made it with Johnsonville sausage instead of ground beef and everyone raved about it and wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
We enjoyed this for a quick meal--over organic blue chips with some cheese and a little ranch dressing. Not the usual tomato base BBQ or sloppy joe--definitely easier on the stomach. Liked the contrast in the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeachBabe Gluten Free

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanatoga, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Ran out of ketchup, tried tomato paste. No go. Totally changes the end result. I'm originally from the coal country area of Pennsylvania(near Pine Grove) and once I did the recipe with the ketchup, then it brought back memories of my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This really is pretty good! It is a sloppy joe cousin. The key is definately to let it simmer with the ketchup, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States