Penne with Vegan Arrabbiata Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mrs. Dr. The Ivan
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
As other raters suggested, I pared down the ingredients considerably. We still had leftovers, but since there are only two mouths to feed in my house, I didn't want to go overboard. The recipe is wonderful and full of flavor. To add a little protein, I will occasionally put a can of drained black beans in the sauce a few minutes before it's done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Dr. The Ivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Oops - just saw what my mistake was -- I used only one can of tomatoes! Definitely scale bale. very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
The difference between 1 can and 7 is huge. Did you adjust the other ingredients accordingly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Simple, wonderful. It's amazing that this happens with so few ingredients! The long simmer really is essential to concentrate the tomato flavors; I simmered mine for five hours (just because it was more convenient) and honestly, I'd recommend at least four. After three, I thought the tomatoes were still a little sharp. My two biggest concerns going in were the oil and the crushed red pepper; I was afraid there'd be too much oil and too little chili. Wrong on both counts. I made the full recipe and will be happy to freeze it to use for another three meals. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I, for one, am glad to have left over sauce to freeze for another time. This is an excellent and a very quick, tasty sauce, tweaked or not. Recipes are guidelines, not something written in stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
the best, easiest, favored recipe! yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
good recipe. I too, cut down the quantity as it made too much. I adjusted the preparation of the pasta by draining it while it was still quite al dente and then putting it in a hot non-stick frying pan with the amount of sauce that I wanted. I heated it through for about a minute and the pasta took on more of the flavour of the sauce. (grandma's trick)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Very good and very simple. I used the advice of another of only using 1 - 28oz can instead of 7 and it worked out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
This was a really great recipe, but I suggest only using 1 (28 oz) can, 7 yields so much that you could feed 20 people! But I use this sauce now for spaghetti and such too, thank you! It's very easy and excellent :) S
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
Super easy with wonderful results. Cooked it for my family and they loved it. I added some olives though, for a tangier taste. All in all, a good recipie. Thank You, Holly! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabbiata

See how to make breaded chicken cutlets in a rich tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States