Penne with Vegan Arrabbiata Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mrs. Dr. The Ivan
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
As other raters suggested, I pared down the ingredients considerably. We still had leftovers, but since there are only two mouths to feed in my house, I didn't want to go overboard. The recipe is wonderful and full of flavor. To add a little protein, I will occasionally put a can of drained black beans in the sauce a few minutes before it's done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Dr. The Ivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Oops - just saw what my mistake was -- I used only one can of tomatoes! Definitely scale bale. very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
The difference between 1 can and 7 is huge. Did you adjust the other ingredients accordingly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Simple, wonderful. It's amazing that this happens with so few ingredients! The long simmer really is essential to concentrate the tomato flavors; I simmered mine for five hours (just because it was more convenient) and honestly, I'd recommend at least four. After three, I thought the tomatoes were still a little sharp. My two biggest concerns going in were the oil and the crushed red pepper; I was afraid there'd be too much oil and too little chili. Wrong on both counts. I made the full recipe and will be happy to freeze it to use for another three meals. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I, for one, am glad to have left over sauce to freeze for another time. This is an excellent and a very quick, tasty sauce, tweaked or not. Recipes are guidelines, not something written in stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
the best, easiest, favored recipe! yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
good recipe. I too, cut down the quantity as it made too much. I adjusted the preparation of the pasta by draining it while it was still quite al dente and then putting it in a hot non-stick frying pan with the amount of sauce that I wanted. I heated it through for about a minute and the pasta took on more of the flavour of the sauce. (grandma's trick)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Very good and very simple. I used the advice of another of only using 1 - 28oz can instead of 7 and it worked out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
This was a really great recipe, but I suggest only using 1 (28 oz) can, 7 yields so much that you could feed 20 people! But I use this sauce now for spaghetti and such too, thank you! It's very easy and excellent :) S
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
Super easy with wonderful results. Cooked it for my family and they loved it. I added some olives though, for a tangier taste. All in all, a good recipie. Thank You, Holly! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabbiata

See how to make breaded chicken cutlets in a rich tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States