Penne with Spring Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I adjusted this to our liking,but,it was so good,we may make it two weeks in a row! While the pasta was cooking (I used Rotini)in a fry pan I heated 2 1/2 cloves minced garlic (& I added a bit of chopped garlic for fun) and about 1/2 cup chopped red onion in a little olive oil. I added sugar snap pea pods and sun dried tomatoes. I grilled the asparagus on our Hamilton Beach griller for a few minutes (after mixing with a little olive oil and lemon juice). Then I added to fry pan for a few minutes. I then added all ingredients together in a large bowl and tossed with fresh grated parm chz (a drizzle more oil) and a little salt & pepper. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
we thought this was pretty good. I added some sundried tomatoes and just a sprinkle of italian spice. the kids like it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merritt, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
This recipe was simple and delicious. It's also great as left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I liked the idea of this recipe, but made some changes to suit my tastes. I prefer my veggies stir-fried instead of boiled, so I cooked them in olive oil in a pan along with some chicken and some Mrs Dash. I also used whole wheat rotini instead of penne. All around a very healthy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I just made this for dinner and it was fantastic! I sauteed a small onion, sliced with the asparagus in a large saute pan. Then added a clove of minced garlic and a pinch of red pepper and salt. Then I added the snap peas and let it all cook for about 15-20 minutes. Served over the cooked penne drizzled with a bit of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woods Cross, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
We loved this recipe! My husband SAYS he doesn't like asparagus - but guess what? He loved this asparagus dish. My only difficulty was that the snow peas I got were still out of season and got a little bitter. But you could substitute frozen peas instead if that was the case. I would stick with only fresh asparagus though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This is very good. Maybe a little bland as is, but a great start. Adding a little bacon makes this AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Archae0pteryx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Delicious! I used frozen peas and fresh asparagus and stirfried them with some garlic season-all, pepper and salt. I also threw in some red onion as well. Served it hot over al dente penne with grated Parmesan cheese. I really enjoyed it, while my husband only gave it a pass, and my toddler just picked out the peas. I don't care what they think, I'm making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
It's very simple but very tasty. I added mushrooms and red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humble, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
5 stars for easy preparation and the healthy ingredients (esp. when made with whole grain penne pasta. minus 1 star b/c it was a bit bland for me. A sprinkle of italian seasonings promptly fixed that, and I ended up having a lovely lunch. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States