Penne with Spring Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I used this as the base for the Johnsonville 6 Ingredient challenge. I added a large clove of garlic, minced and 1/2 pound Johnsonville Mild Fresh ground sausage. Rather than boil the vegetables, I blanched the peas then transferred them and the asparagus to the pan with the cooked sausage and stir fried it all. We thoroughly enjoyed it. Jessica, thanks for a great inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I didn't have asparagus but used zucchini instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I added the balsamic vinegar and minced garlic as suggested but still found the dish quite bland. Next time I will add bacon and sauteed garlic and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
It's very simple but very tasty. I added mushrooms and red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humble, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PMtz19
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
After tasting this receipe as written, I'd give this recipe 4 stars, because it was a bit on the bland side. With a little tweaking such as adding a little Balsamic Vinegar and minced garlic to the pasta mixture - I'd rate it a definate 5 star recipe. The second time I made it, at the last minute I realized that I didn't have snow peas so I threw in halved grape tomatoes and I really liked that combination as well. Definately a great base recipe as it and easily adaptable to your liking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PMtz19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Tastes great and is easy to put together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This is very good. Maybe a little bland as is, but a great start. Adding a little bacon makes this AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Archae0pteryx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
5 stars for easy preparation and the healthy ingredients (esp. when made with whole grain penne pasta. minus 1 star b/c it was a bit bland for me. A sprinkle of italian seasonings promptly fixed that, and I ended up having a lovely lunch. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I just made this for dinner and it was fantastic! I sauteed a small onion, sliced with the asparagus in a large saute pan. Then added a clove of minced garlic and a pinch of red pepper and salt. Then I added the snap peas and let it all cook for about 15-20 minutes. Served over the cooked penne drizzled with a bit of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woods Cross, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Delicious! I used frozen peas and fresh asparagus and stirfried them with some garlic season-all, pepper and salt. I also threw in some red onion as well. Served it hot over al dente penne with grated Parmesan cheese. I really enjoyed it, while my husband only gave it a pass, and my toddler just picked out the peas. I don't care what they think, I'm making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States