Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Very tasty! I subbed ground turkey for the sausage and basil for the parsley. Soooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Very easy and delicious! The only thing I did different was I did not add any salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeAnna Quartuccio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
With a couple of changes, from reviewers and myself, this could be a rich fantastic dish. Next time, I would halve the oil, or omit it all together. Was a bit too greasy. I omitted the pepper (I don't like spicy) and salt. I used full-salt tomato sauce and doubled the vodka and cream. Lastly, 1/2 link for 2!? Luckily, I at least tripled the sausage, equaling one link per person. I also sprinkled some parmesan on top. Even without some of these changes, was a very good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAsweetie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
My husband and I are really big fans of penne alla vodka so I was really excited to try this recipe. I followed it exactly and did not change anything. The main problem with it was the crushed tomatoes. Maybe it was the brand I bought but when I opened the can it was like a thick paste, I guess I was expecting diced tomatoes but more finely chopped in a bit of liquid. So the sauce ended up covering up all the other flavours. Couldn't taste the sausage, pepper flakes, or even garlic as the sauce was so heavy. It was literally like eating pasta in tomato paste. Just awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Pretty good! My son really liked this but I was a little skeptical until I tasted it that next day bc it tastes even better the 2nd day! Made as directed with the exception of adding chopped onion, used 1/4 cup vodka per the reviews, and substituted half and half for the heavy cream (was 1/3 the price.) Regarding the vodka, I was concerned about being sure to cook out the alcohol so I boiled that a full 2 minutes. Not much direction there (? ) Funny how some people thought this recipe called for bell pepper! I would def twice the meat next time. Thanks for the recipe, had a good time trying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
We liked this recipe very much, it was easy and full of flavor. I only had hot Italian sausage and either the sausage made it a little too hot or the amount of red pepper flakes was a little too much for our taste. Next time I'll try it with the sweet sausage as the recipe called for. One more thing, I added a little more vodka to the sauce because we like the rich flavor that vodka lends to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
This was delicious! only thing different was I used hot Italian sausages, as that's all we had. Didn't use fresh parsley as I forgot to buy it, but will make sure to next time. This was a very easy to make, flavorful dish, that tastes like it took a lot of time and effort! Served it with freshly grated parm reggiano cheese..Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minkyblack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I made this for dinner and followed it the recipe to the t and my family fell in love i shaved some fresh romano cheese on top and delish maybe next time i will try basil instead of parsley but the turkey sausage gave it a very good kick thanks for the recipe will be making this recipe more often on our italian nights
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rees11
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I have just made this and i love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
This is very close to the recipe I use.I had vodka penne at a restaurant a few years ago and it was superior to any I'd had before.Really delicious.Fortunately I knew the chef and asked him what the taste was that I couldn't identify.As odd as this sounds,he dices Canadian bacon very small(about 4 oz.)You cook it in a small amt.olive oil until very brown and then proceed with the recipe as written.No other meat needed.For me,I also run the crushed tomatoes thru the food processor as I like the sauce smooth but that's individual preference.When some friends of mine come for dinner they always ask me to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 939) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States