Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I made this dish for me and my husband. It was easy to make. I made a few changes which included adding 4 oz. of cream cheese, half pint of half and half, and an added splash of vodka. When I make this again, I think it needs some onion and lots more garlic. Even tho I added more vodka, we could not taste it, so if you don't have any I think it would be fine to omit it and still have a great dish. This dish was really creamy and hearty when I made it, but the next day when we took it to work it was even better. So, make plenty for leftovers. I would make this dish again but,it's not restaurant quality like some folks say, but it is pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fountain Run, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
A great recipe! I always add a diced red pepper and a diced half onion with the garlic, and ignite and reduce the vodka before adding the tomato to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deathmagus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Wonderful and even better as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Absolutely delicious! My family loved it and it made me very happy. I did change one thing though, I didn't have Vodka so I used Sherry. I've already made it twice. Oh and I added spinach this time and it was delish! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Excellent from all points of view. My family loved it and asked if we could have more tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eleventwenty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Very good but... I personally think it was too much pasta for this recipe; half a lb. would've been perfect. I slightly modified the recipe by adding 2 tbsp. chopped red onion, 6 thinly sliced white mushrooms, increased vodka by a 1/4 cup, and using spicy Italian instead of sweet (couldn't find it). I browned the sausage, then drained the fat, return sausage to skillet and then sautéed garlic, onion, mushrooms and red pepper flakes, stirring until garlic browned. Also I didn't add any salt...my husband and I skip it in all our recipes. We'd rather use fresh herbs and spices instead. It is definitely a keeper but next time either I double the sauce or I cut down half the amount of pasta. Thank you Star Pooley for sharing with us this fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrancineL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
This was delicious! I bought ground sausage for pizza and used that in place of removing the casing off links, but this was phenomenal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I made this today without the sausage. It was superb. Restaurant quality. Was generous with the vodka and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Outstanding recipe! Following another review I added 3oz Pancetta diced browned it lightly, added the sausage and browned the two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I loved the kick that the crushed red pepper added! I followed this recipe to a tee and it was perfect! No changes needed. My family couldn't get enough of it and we all agreed that it was restaurant worthy. This recipe will most definitely become a regular and a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowgirl1224

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 890) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States