Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
My guests and myself thought it was delicious. I made a few tweaks by adding more vodka sauce and putting in some diced tomatoes and onions in addition. Gave the sauce a heartier feel. I think the only think I would do differently next time is either make the sausage finer so it isn't larger chunks, or possibly go with a pancetta or bacon as the meat flavor in it. Overall, wonderful easy recipe and will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This turned out really well and the family loved it. I did add some black pepper and a little Italian seasonings to the recipe along with some extra crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MERRIWE2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This is incredible! I did change this a little. I made the pasta first and was worried about it sticking together so I poured some olive oil on it and mixed it up. I fried portobello mushroom first, then put it on the side. I followed the rest of the instructions to make this. (For those concerned about the heavy cream/half and half turning, it doesn't). I used half and half instead of heavy cream, which I doubled because it still looked very red. I doubled the vodka too. I added the portobellos at the end and then put it on the pasta. My family and I love it! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This recipe was absolutely amazing. The only thing I changed was I used 1/2 the amount of EVOO to cook the sausage in. Next time I will probably use only a tablespoon of it. 1/4 a cup is way too much oil and I don't really like the flavor in the food. But I followed the rest of the recipe to a T and it was seriously amazing. There was just so much depth of flavor. My whole family (including my 2 and 3 yr olds) went back for seconds. This is definitely a new family favorite. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bribabe7065

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
We love this! We had a dish in Sicily in a very similar sauce but with a seafood mix (prawns, mussels, squid rings and fish) instead of sausage. I do it with seafood and add oregano and basil to it as well as a couple sliced onions for hubby's taste. Try it...you will be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
wholly yummmy! awesome awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
My only complaint is that I would put even MORE garlic in it, but it is fabulous, otherwise as-is. I doubled it and will be enjoying it for several more meals. Quick & just lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karie Maurer-Enneking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Awesome recipe, my daughter and I make this often. Because my daughter is vegetarian, we exclude the sausage, I don't even miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I was looking for something to do with the hot Italian sausage links I had cooked, a can of crushed tomato and some julienne red, orange and yellow mini peppers sauteed in olive oil. This was a great recipe, easy and so delicious!! (changes made to accommodate what I had on hand). Sliced Hot sausage instead of red pepper flakes and not out of casing..garlic powder added to tomatoes instead of fresh sauteed garlic. Dried parsley. Sour cream instead of heavy cream. Additionally, a couple pinches of sugar and white wine instead of vodka. Exellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VioletSkies

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Excellent dish. Of course I made a few modifications. Since I was cooking for six, I went with 10 medium organic chicken sausage links. I also added green peppers, 6 to 7 cloves of garlic, omitted the parsley and added three to four pinches of basil and oregano. I also added six pinches of freshly grated romano, parmegiana, and asiago cheese. Double up the vodka sauce if you plan on adding more sausage like I did. Dont worry the sauce will thick as it simmers. It turned out amazing. In fact this is my new favorite pasta dish. Its so tasty and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 896) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States