Penne with Spicy Chicken Sausage, Beans, and Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I omitted the arugula and used baby spinach instead. Very good. My husband doesn't like spicy, but my boys do. It wasn't too spicy. I suppose if I used plain sweet italian sausage he would have liked it. We enjoyed it very much and will do again. Goat cheese really makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrentham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I liked and they loved. I did make some subs. Instead of andouille, white wine, basil pesto, canellinini, arugula, grape tomatoes. I used chipotle-jack chicken sausage, chicken stock, homemade arugula pesto with parmesan, northern beans, spinach and petite, diced tomatoes with chilis in a can. I omitted the goat cheese (we had blue cheese for lunch and I didn't want to overwhelm their taste buds) and added Badia Complete Seasoning to taste. I thinned the sauce with pasta water and juice from canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Not a fan. It was difficult to eat because of the penne pasta and the flavors are all over the place. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick Warfield

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is great! In the past, I've made it without the arugula because I don't like cooked spinach and I was afraid this would taste similar. Recently I made exactly as the directions said and it was fantastic! Cooked arugula tastes nothing like cooked spinach. I think the only change I'll be making in the future is a little more pesto and a bit more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RazzyHoHo
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I used this recipe as a shell and improvised. I used the whole wheat penne. I added baked chicken to the recipe that I seasoned with onion salt, pepper, poultry herb, and basil. I used the garlic, olive oil, white wine and some pesto that I made awhile back and stored in the freezer (luckily, it thaws very quickly). I added the chicken and Conecuh sausage along with kale and bits of spinach and arugula and added a drained canned of diced tomatoes. I also added some light butter to thicken the sauce. I was worried it would have too much garlic taste with the garlic and the pesto, but this was actually really nicely balanced and not overly filling either. The goat cheese is a great addition. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Tasty and easy -two essentials for me. The arugula gives a nutty flavor. I used leftover sliced chicken breast instead of sausage and Northern beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I thought this was ok. It had too many strong flavors competing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I like it but not my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was delicious. Like many others, I used what I had on hand, so I substituted spinach, pinto beans, feta cheese, and a mixture of chicken/artichoke and habanero sausages. But I thought the proportions and the garlic/pesto/wine flavor really made it wonderful. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This was super good! I replaced the white wine with chicken stock, and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States