Penne with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
This was quite a good base, but I modified it a bit. I used only 1 can of tomatoes, doubled the garlic and wine (so I simmered it a little while longer - uncovered - to boil off some liquid. About 20 minutes all together). I also added basil and crushed red pepper while sauteing the onion and garlic... this added to the flavor a lot. Very easy to make and really delicious. I will definitely make it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
This recipe was easy and tasty. I've made it several times now. The last few times I have added more spices (salt, pepper, italian seasonings, basil). I have also used pre-cooked shrimp that were thawed and just thrown them in for a minute or two at the end...much easier. I was also generous with the wine. At first I worried about what wine to use, but now I just dump in whatever I've got going and it turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy4mytummy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I did enjoy this. However I did add LOTS of crushed garlic. It is a little bland but it was good. I think what I would do next time is not add the shrimp to the sauce but pan fry the shrimp in garlic butter with some lemon first, then add it on top of the pasta and sauce. This way the shrimp would have more flavour. Was a good basic recipe. I would make it again but with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peekie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Great! But I did add a 1/3 cup tomato sauce to the recipie, and I did not toss together but placed the noodles in individual small ramikins and ladled the sauce over, sprinkled the parmesean with a little added mozzarella and baked until bubbly. Fantastic, it is now in my favorite recipie book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I sauteed some zuchinni in it before adding the wine and tomatoes. Also added some ground red pepper, garlic powder, onion powder and parsley. It was awesome!!! My husband and 11 month old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This was a really good recipe. I made a change,however. I only used 1 can of diced tomatoes and I used 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese that I add to the pasta instead on just sprinkling it on the top. It was great with garlic bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This sauce has such nice flavor. Usually I find that the sauce is missing something or that it has too much of something in it. I did not find that to be the case with this sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I am sorry, but this was very bland. Even after I added a ton of garlic and Italian Seasoning. Thanks for sharing your recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This was simple but it was a little plain to me. I added lots of extra garlic and some basil. I omited the wine because it already seemed a little too soupy. After tossing it with the pasta I decided it needed more substance so I put in 1 cup of tomato sauce. I didn't put the whole cup of cheese on it because I am trying to watch my wasteline - I let everyone sprinkle their own desired amount of cheese on. I used a bag of frozen shrimp because I had them on hand - just thawed and pulled the tails off and threw them in the last few minutes to heat up. My husband LOVED LOVED LOVED IT!!!! So even though I thought it was just so-so I am sure I will be begged to make it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAmyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This recipe was very good I made it for my grilfriend and she just loved it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States