Penne with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I often riff off Italian recipes, and this was no exception, but it was not much of a diffrence! Judging from the comments, I adjusted the seasoning a bit, and as in my custom, I let the sauce simmer 90 minutes to 2 hours ON VERY LOW, with the lid half-on the pot. I did NOT shell the shrimp-I bought uncooked shrimp which were already de-veined, pulled the "feathers" off, and leaving the shells ON,continued the recipe as stated. The shells add a LOT of flavor to the end product. IT IS VERY flavorful, a little more prep and cooking time, but this is added to my recipe box and we plan on making it frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie Myres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrell, Texas, USA
Living In: Highland Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Great low cal recipe! I added extra garlic, fresh basil and red pepper flakes as others suggested. I also added a little extra wine. My sauce cooked at a higher temperature than it should have, so it coooked down quite a bit, but was still wonderful. It was a very light pasta dish and I will be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This recipe made a wonderful summertime meal. I added fresh basil and zucchini and increased the garlic - ideas I got from other reviewers - otherwise followed the recipe exactly, The flavors were subtle but delicious - just right! It was also very quick and easy to prepare. I really enjoyed this meal and my husband and daughter both rated it a 5+. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This was fantastic with just a few changes. Instead of penne, I used dough spread thin in a pan. Then I topped it with the drained tomatoes and garlic, skipping the shrimp altogether. I thought a cup of parmesan was a bit much, so I used mozzarella cheese. Where I really saved time was instead of all the sauteing, I just baked it in a very hot oven until the dough was golden brown. Yum! Could have been a 5 star recipe, but I only gave it 4 because it would have been better with pepperoni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I made a similar recipe I found on this site, which called for fire-roasted diced tomatoes. Try them. They may be hard to find, but without them, this dish is a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I thought this was a good basic recipe to follow. I did add more garlic, basil, oregano, white wine and parsley to the recipe. Had a very good flavor and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I added some Italian spices and some red pepper flakes because my family likes spicy food. It was light tasting since there wasn't any heavy sauce. I may add a little olive oil to help the sauce stick to the pasta next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Very tasty. I added scallops and shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This sauce has such nice flavor. Usually I find that the sauce is missing something or that it has too much of something in it. I did not find that to be the case with this sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I loved the health factor of this recipe. Next time I will follow the advice of some of the others and saute some zucchini and add a little more spice to it. Overall it was simple to make and tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States