Penne with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Excellent recipe. Some reviewers thought that it was a little bland so instead of canned diced tomatoes, I added canned diced tomatoes with green chillies. If you like spicey food, you will love it with the this change. Another possibility....add one can of diced tomatoes with green chillies and one plain diced tomatoes for a not so spicy, but still flavorful meal. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
YUM!! I did tweak it a little for my families liking. We are from South Louisiana so I had to add some more flavoring. I used more onion and garlic, seasoned the sauce w/ salt and pepper. I also added a tsp of sugar! I sauteed the shrimp in butter, salt, pepper, garlic powder and squeezed some lemon. I cooked them till they were just done and added them to the sauce (make sure to drain the juice). It's such a great flavor. Added a side of corn and some garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoeLeigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Was a little bland, I added cajun seasoning to spice things up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Just made this meal... and everyone is loving me.... Thank you... Very simple to make and did not take long at all (and cheap). Impressed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I used this as a base for my recipe so my review is not a "true review" but I love what I made. I used chicken instead of shrimp. As other reviewers did, I added seasonings to this. I used Italian seasoning, garlic poweder (in addition to the fresh), basil and chili flakes. I also added peas and mushrooms to it. It was DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Great! But I agree the dish didn't have enough of a "hit." I just sauteed the shrimp in butter and creole seasoning and laid on top of the penne with the sauce. Wonderful and thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I added fresh, sliced mushrooms to this and it was delicious. Will make again but may try adding artichoke hearts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
With a couple alterations, i thought this dish was absolutely delicious. I used only one can of tomatoes with jalepenos in them and half a pound of small penne and added more garlic and italian seasoning, basil and hot pepper seeds and about a tablespoon of sugar. I have been looking for a recipe like this for a long time and am so happy to have found this one. Next time I am going to use all the same things but add spicy italian sausage and some green peppers instead of the shrimp just for something different. We will definitely have this many more times. The family loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Wow! This was declicious...although I did make some changes. I hate to review a recipe based on changes I made, but too many people said it was bland for me not to take note. My changes were: Use whole wheat penne; increase garlic to 2 tbls.; add 1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper, 1/2 tsp. black pepper, 1 tsp. Italian seasoning, 1 tsp. dried basil. I used Contessa frozen shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
It was a very simple and fast meal. The fact that it was healthy was great too. I personally like thicker sauce so I let is simmer for a while to thicken it up. And for a little more spicier flavor I added a bit of white pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onehottmama22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States