Penne with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Nice! I followed the directions exactly except for adding basil and oregano. I also upped the garlic to a heaping tablespoon. I used frozen shrimp, and had every intention of thawing it completely before using it, but it didn't thaw fast enough. They were still mostly frozen when I added them to the pot. They took a little longer to heat, but it still turned out good in the end. For those of you counting calories at home... one portion size didn't really fill us up. Be sure to have a salad or veggie on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Yeah it is ok....needs a bunch of other stuff to make it more memorable. A citrus fruit or other veggies. Just so so but easy and edible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Fantastic, and super-quick. I used a can of tomatoes that was flavored with garlic and basil, and whole wheat penne. My husband is a really picky eater, but for this, he dove in for seconds. We both agree that the sauce could use a little something --perhaps a really general Italian seasoning--but I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
My hubby, son and I all loved this! Light but very tasty! I didn't have white wine so I subbed sherry, and I used more onion (yellow instead of red). Delicious! Would definitely make again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This did not have enough flavor for us--too bland. I used fresh, quality ingredients & followed the recipe to the letter, even measured! Added basil, salt & pepper to the leftovers. Better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I thought the recipe was very good! I did add about 2 teaspoons of dried basil and 1 tablespoon of sugar to cut down on the acid. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Good base recipe, but take the advice of other cooks: add more seasoning! This recipe on its own is sooo bland. Garlic, basil, oregano, salt, pepper...whatever you like: add it. The more seasonings the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was wonderful!!! I eliminated the wine, used one can of tomatoes and used vendaila onion!! Oh and topped with feta cheese!!! ta die for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Lee Law

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
My sister made this on Christmas day. I loved it. It was tasty and not too heavy. A nice change from ham or turkey of course, but would have been great anytime. Using freshly grated parmesean is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States