Penne with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Made this tonight and it was absolutely delicious! I did omit the wine because my kids don't care for anything w/ that flavor. I just added the juice from the canned tomatoes and added fresh basil and oregano. My kids asked for thirds!!! Thanks for sharing this recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I really didn't think this would have a lot of flavor--it sounded too simple--but it tasted great! I made it just as written. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
soo tasty. you can use any wine and it will always turn out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristinaHoward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Great concept, but overall, it was lacking/very bland. Will modify and make again, but will definately decrease the canned toms to ONE can, double the wine, garlic and onion for starters. On the positive, it was super easy/quick to make, just needs some tweaking, plus spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Hubs had been asking for a shrimp dinner so I decided to try this one. For the two of us I used 1/4 of the penne and half of the other ingredients. Even though I used canned tomatoes that were already seasoned with basil, garlic and oregano, I thought this recipe still needed a boost of flavor. Next time, I’ll add more basil and oregano (fresh if I have it), more wine, and maybe some red pepper flakes or cayenne for a little kick. We did enjoy this and it’s worth another try, but I’ll be bumping up the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I loved this recipe. The leftovers were even better. I added garlic sal and italian seasoning at the end to give a bit more flavor. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Needs a lot more flavor. Add in some basil parsley oregano. Be very generous with the wine. Also needs more garlic. Plate top with a spritz of lemon juice. Also I added mushrooms with the garlic and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senkyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Didn't have very much flavor, I added extra garlic, italian spices and some red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Loved this recipe. All of you that say this is bland give it another try. Use Rotel can tomatoes/lime juice and cilantro flavored. Unbelivable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Nice! I followed the directions exactly except for adding basil and oregano. I also upped the garlic to a heaping tablespoon. I used frozen shrimp, and had every intention of thawing it completely before using it, but it didn't thaw fast enough. They were still mostly frozen when I added them to the pot. They took a little longer to heat, but it still turned out good in the end. For those of you counting calories at home... one portion size didn't really fill us up. Be sure to have a salad or veggie on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States