Penne with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by TexasJen
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Even with seasoning, this meal was only okay. Might be better with the alfredo as suggested, and I think I'll use chicken if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This was really bland - sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This is a really great homemade recipe that has lot of flavor but isn't hard to make. I only added a few dry seasonings: Salt, pepper, dried red pepper flakes (1/2 tsp.) and dried basil. I don't make many recipes twice - but this is a great quick meal that definitely impresses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Good, simple taste. The sauce came out very watery. I might drain the tomatoes next time. We also used frozen pre-cooked shrimp, which may have contributed to the liquid. We didn't use a whole cup of parmesan cheese, but it was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
This was a bit bland, and I increased the garlic and onion some, added some spices, and increased the wine as well. I also put in some zucchini (chopped into pieces) and decreased the amount of tomato a bit. It just doesn't really have enough flavor for me to love it. I don't think I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyoftheIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This is a great base to start with. It does need seasoning and about double the wine it calls for. Still rather good on its own. I make it occasionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This recipe is delicious with the extra Alfredo sauce - thank you for the suggestion! I sauteed mushrooms, garlic and onion in the oil and then added the wine (to taste) and 14.5 oz of well drained diced tomatoes with chile and then the shrimp. It was a little spicy for my taste but after i mixed in some Alfredo sauce it was perfect! Of course some people added crushed red pepper at the table but most of us found it had just the right amount of spicyness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Great recipe! Every time I dine out, I'm always looking for a good shrimp pasta dish. I was happy to find this recipe! I sauteed mushrooms and green onions along with the onion and garlic. I used a little extra white wine and added in some garlic powder, black pepper and a little crushed red pepper. Once I tossed it with the pasta, I felt that it was still a little bland and missing something. Guess what? I three in 3/4 jar of alfredo sauce during the last five minutes. THe end result = PERFECT SHRIMP PASTA DISH!! Thank you so much for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
This is excellent...very light and flavorful. I followed the advice of others and used only one can of diced tomatoes and doubled the wine and garlic. I also added sliced mushrooms, basil, and crushed red pepper. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
This was great! Thank you for the recipe! I added yellow squash, fresh basil, and used fresh plum tomatoes (instead of canned tomatoes) because I had these ingredients on hand. I also added crushed red pepper, black pepper, and garlic powder, as other reviewers mentioned. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States