Penne with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I sliced up sweet sausage and cooked this with the onion. Plus, I added more garlic and Italian spice to taste. I liked the consistency of the sauce as it stayed moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Recipe was fantastic! I made recipe "as is", but next time I will use half the amount of tomatoes, basil, spices, etc., and more wine for flavor. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
We enjoyed this. I also added Italian Seasonings, basil, oregano. It was easy and quite tasty. Will make often with other variations. I think would be good with scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Frye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I often riff off Italian recipes, and this was no exception, but it was not much of a diffrence! Judging from the comments, I adjusted the seasoning a bit, and as in my custom, I let the sauce simmer 90 minutes to 2 hours ON VERY LOW, with the lid half-on the pot. I did NOT shell the shrimp-I bought uncooked shrimp which were already de-veined, pulled the "feathers" off, and leaving the shells ON,continued the recipe as stated. The shells add a LOT of flavor to the end product. IT IS VERY flavorful, a little more prep and cooking time, but this is added to my recipe box and we plan on making it frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie Myres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrell, Texas, USA
Living In: Highland Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Great low cal recipe! I added extra garlic, fresh basil and red pepper flakes as others suggested. I also added a little extra wine. My sauce cooked at a higher temperature than it should have, so it coooked down quite a bit, but was still wonderful. It was a very light pasta dish and I will be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This recipe made a wonderful summertime meal. I added fresh basil and zucchini and increased the garlic - ideas I got from other reviewers - otherwise followed the recipe exactly, The flavors were subtle but delicious - just right! It was also very quick and easy to prepare. I really enjoyed this meal and my husband and daughter both rated it a 5+. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This was fantastic with just a few changes. Instead of penne, I used dough spread thin in a pan. Then I topped it with the drained tomatoes and garlic, skipping the shrimp altogether. I thought a cup of parmesan was a bit much, so I used mozzarella cheese. Where I really saved time was instead of all the sauteing, I just baked it in a very hot oven until the dough was golden brown. Yum! Could have been a 5 star recipe, but I only gave it 4 because it would have been better with pepperoni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I made a similar recipe I found on this site, which called for fire-roasted diced tomatoes. Try them. They may be hard to find, but without them, this dish is a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I thought this was a good basic recipe to follow. I did add more garlic, basil, oregano, white wine and parsley to the recipe. Had a very good flavor and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I added some Italian spices and some red pepper flakes because my family likes spicy food. It was light tasting since there wasn't any heavy sauce. I may add a little olive oil to help the sauce stick to the pasta next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States