Penne with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This recipe is a good base recipe. I added basil, oregano, and italian seasoning. I also added some sliced red, yellow and green peppers. I cook the sauce separately, and then add a bit of corn starch mixed in water to thicken. I've also used pre cooked shrimp. It has many possibilities. . . I usually just use what I have on hand, and it is good every time. It has become a repeat recipe in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSIELTTE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This recipe, as noted below, was a bit bland, but.... I cooked the shrimp in Move Over Butter, and garlic. When the shrimp was done, I added all the liquid from the shrimp. I also bought the specialty shredded parmesean from the specialty cheese section... and ... OH MY.... delectable. I would make this again in a heart beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carveam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This was delish!!! So easy and quick! More like this needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Very good, will definitely be serving this again..I combined some other suggestions when preparing. I sauteed the shrimp in butter prior to adding to the sauce. I added a pinch of crushed red pepper and fresh basil.However, I did have to add some dried basil later,as it still needed a little more(dried did the trick, but we do love basil in our house, so you'd have to adjust it to your own preference). I also used petite diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Very fresh with simple but very flavorful taste! I did add a few tablespoons fresh chopped basil and a few dashes red pepper flakes. A breeze to put together, very quick! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
The sauce is light like a marinara but a little bland. I added a whole roasted red Bell pepper. Also, I decreased the amount of pasta to 12 ounces & it was a bit too much still, probably 10 would have been plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JusCookAlready

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Excellent recipe and very easy to prepare. I'll do this one again. Also, works well without the wine as the wine opener was broke, and I now have a new one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristin
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Really good, used 1 1/2lbs of shrimp, extra dry white wine, didnt have a red onion, used a white onion, and added fresh tomatos instead of canned. really good if the husband didnt eat all the shrimp before i served it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schererville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Great recipe that can be modified to what is in your kitchen! I used a little less pasta because I like my pasta more saucy. I also added another cup of wine and simmered for a little longer than stated. I also had some pitted green olives in the fridge that I sliced and added as well. It turned out wonderful and my boyfriend said it was better than the pasta he ordered in a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Good and easy! I added mushrooms and some fresh spinach. Tasty and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States