Penne with Sausage and Broccoli Rabe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This was delicious and fast easy. I use vegetable base in the pasta liquid to cut the bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
My husband and I loved it! Instead of rabe i just had normal Broccoli and it was delicious!!! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ayellene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: League City, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I didn't use the reserved pasta water to cook the broccoli rabe sausage. Instead I used chicken broth, it takes some of the bitterness out of the broccoli rabe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Halved the red pepper cause I'm not crazy about spice, and this was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MR. YO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rutledge, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Spicy lovers unite! Wow, is this good! I'm so glad I stumbled across this recipe! The only changes I made were to use broccolini instead of broccoli rabe (since my market didn't have any today) and I cut down on the crushed red pepper to about 2 tsp instead of 1 tbsp. It was still plenty spicy and delicious! I also used whole wheat penne and half grated/half shredded parmesan. Next time I probably won't cook up a full box of pasta, because I didn't end up using all of it. I think 2/3 of a box suits our tastes. Hubby warned me before dinner that he wasn't hungry, so he only had me dish up a small portion. Well guess who went back for seconds and thirds! :) A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I used whole wheat rotini and broccoli because I did not have broccoli rabe. It was delicious. I also added fiery diced tomatoes to the skillet with the sausage to make it into more of a sauce. After I removed the skillet with the garlic, red pepper flakes, sausage, and diced tomatoes from the heat, I added some mascarpone cheese to make the sauce a little creamy. Stir the mascarpone cheese with the sausage mixture until incorporated. I highly recommend this dish as a quick dinner! It is a very easy dish to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This is a staple recipe in our house now! I do make a few tweaks though: I use sweet Italian turkey sausage to reduce the fat a bit -- I've made it this way and regular, and no one noticed any difference. I also add a chopped onion, and saute it with the sausage. At the end, I add a jar of light Alfredo sauce (for convenience! making your own would surely be better) Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This is delicious, quick and easy! I couldn't find any broccoli rabe, so I just used regular broccoli. I followed another reviewers suggestion and only used 2 tsp of the red pepper flakes.. Perfect spicyness factor. For those who don't like spice I would suggest to skip the flakes and just use some diced red or green pepper... I have made this recipe a few times as stated, but when I made it today, I had some Alfredo sauce in the fridge.. I added some of that at the end of cooking (not much, just enough to coat it.. Maybe 1/4 or 1/3cup?) and it didn't change the flavor, but was really good! Just creamier/added to the sauce..any pasta noodle would work well (bowtie, elbow, fettucini, ect) a sprinkle of fresh parm ontop is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Right on!, Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I made this with broccoli instead of the rabe, as it wasn't available in our local store. I'm taking time to comment on it because I think that using 1 tablespoon of crushed red pepper flakes, as called for, might actually injure people! Omigosh! I cut it back to 1 teaspoon, and we still found it so spicy that many of the people to whom I served it wouldn't eat it. The hot Italian sausage was tasty but the pepper flakes definitely need to be adjusted. I'm a spicy food lover, but I write to caution folks to go light on the pepper flakes. I like a pasta recipe that's not smothered in sauce, so I'd give this another go with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabbiata

See how to make breaded chicken cutlets in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States