Penne with Red Pepper Sauce and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
found there was a bit too much pasta. would make again using less
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I thought this meal was outstanding. I followed the instructions exactly. My wife is a fussy Italian eater and she went back for seconds!! We were looking for a no meat recipe and this fit the bill perfectly. Good job! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
The red pepper sauce is excellent. In fact, I'm in the process of making it again right now. I added a bit more garlic and onions than the recipe called for as suggested by another reviewer. I served the sauce with pasta and broccoli, but also added beef strips (sorry, vegetarians!) and a diced sweet potato. A HUGE hit with my dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Tasty and satisfying dish - and without a cream sauce! The almonds add a great touch. Definitely do NOT mix in an entire lb of pasta - about 12 ounces means you'll have enough sauce. I used frozen onion and peppers (tri-color rather than just red), along with frozen broccoli and I added cauliflower. This might be better with fresh veggies, but it was delicious with frozen! I'll definitely make this one again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
Very good! I couldn't follow this recipe exactly because my food processor was uncooperative. Unable to puree the vegetables, I just tossed them with the other ingredients with wonderful results. This is designed to be served hot, but cold leftovers the following day were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
one of the best recipies i found on this site! would like it to be a little more wet, though. the almonds are indeed awesome. my boyfriend licked the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Very good recipe. I used a 1 cup of parmesan and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This was delicious. I had to substitute some ingredients as I was cooking with what was on hand. I only had one red pepper and used white cheddar instead of parmesan. I also used gnocchi instead of penne. I will have to try this one again with the prescribed ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salmon, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Totally LOVED this recipe, as with my husband and 8yr old son. Plates were polished cleaned with this recipe! All I added that was different was an extra tsp of vinegar instead of the suggested. I also didn't have fresh Parmesan so I used fresh Asiago instead. True, it wasn't very 'saucy' but I don't particularly like pasta that's dripping with sauce. This was just the right amount of sauce for my taste. This dish will remain in my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This recipe was fantastic! I used whole wheat pasta and it changed the flavor a little, but I added a little extra cayenne and garlic, so it wasn't as sweet as it could have turned. This would be great with mushrooms and/or chicken added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States