Penne with Red Pepper Sauce and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
found there was a bit too much pasta. would make again using less
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2001
The sauce really is tasty, although I would be inclined to add more garlic, cayenne pepper and balsamic vinegar that it asks for because I found it a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
I love this recipe. I am married to an Italian (green card Italian, not Mamma Leoni from Brooklyn Italian), and he is always impressed when I make this dish. The almonds are a special touch and it always helps to have fresh fresh fresh ingredients. My kids don't like peppers as a general rule so I never intended to make it for them. It looks like there's cream added to the sauce because of the creamy pink color. Great way to fool those die-hards who refuse to eat anything that is 100% vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
The red pepper sauce is excellent. In fact, I'm in the process of making it again right now. I added a bit more garlic and onions than the recipe called for as suggested by another reviewer. I served the sauce with pasta and broccoli, but also added beef strips (sorry, vegetarians!) and a diced sweet potato. A HUGE hit with my dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Tasty and satisfying dish - and without a cream sauce! The almonds add a great touch. Definitely do NOT mix in an entire lb of pasta - about 12 ounces means you'll have enough sauce. I used frozen onion and peppers (tri-color rather than just red), along with frozen broccoli and I added cauliflower. This might be better with fresh veggies, but it was delicious with frozen! I'll definitely make this one again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
Very good! I couldn't follow this recipe exactly because my food processor was uncooperative. Unable to puree the vegetables, I just tossed them with the other ingredients with wonderful results. This is designed to be served hot, but cold leftovers the following day were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
Love this one! My mother didn't like it, but she doesn't really like vegetables much. It was neat to have a non-tomato red sauce. My meat-loving husband said this is one of the few meatless dishes I make where he doesn't miss the meat. This one's a keeper for us! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
one of the best recipies i found on this site! would like it to be a little more wet, though. the almonds are indeed awesome. my boyfriend licked the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I followed this recipe very closely and found it very work heavy for not a particularely outstanding meal. I found the taste to be a bit plain, for what I was expecting. Judging by the price it cost to make it, the time involved, and the outcome, I don't think I'd make it again. It was interesting to try, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Very good recipe. I used a 1 cup of parmesan and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Cheesy Broccoli Puffs with Sriracha Sauce

Bring your holiday party to life with delicious bite-size appetizers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States